We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eric from France”

Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Ann is very very kind and will help you for everything you want.
The Bed and breakfast is just perfect to stay a few days in Sitka.
Breakfast is very good and each morning, it's new.
Hike on gavan hill is beautiful and the view is just amazing, you should go when the weather is fine and the path starts just behind the house.
Thank you very much

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2011

Sitka is a great place to visit and Ann's Gavin Hill B&B is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are comfortable however do not include en suite bathrooms. Folksy is a good description with a bear skin shot by Ann hanging on the wall. There is a large hot tub on the side deck which was comfortable. It is a ten minute walk to downtown Sitka however we found it easy to do and had no problems. Breakfast is excellent. Customer service was excellent - when we told Ann that we would have to miss the Bear Fortress because the shuttle was not running she volunteered to drive us there herself and then gave us a tour of the mountains and lakes south of town - a two plus hour event!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpy065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Ann's was a great place to stay . Ann was a terrific host , providing lots of local information and tourist tips. Breakfast was a tasty and stimulating affair with the other house guests. Rooms were comfortable and quiet with everything you need plus more . Located a nice walk from the centre of town .

Room Tip: request the largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was one of our favorite stays on a ferry trip through SE Alaska. Ann and her family offer a good location in town, great bedroons with twin, queen or king beds, nice decorations in each room, lots of movies to view in the room, tv in the common area, free use of their computer or wifi. And the full cooked breakfasts were fabulous!!! Such a treat after the continental or "fix it yourself' style that is becoming more common. And served so beautifully! Each of three mornings there was a different decor for the dining table--a lovely touch!
All the comments below about Ann's friendliness, helpfulness and amenities reflect our experience. Rules? It is her house and we were guests, so why not honor simple requests which make the surroundings more pleasant for those who follow and for the family? Removing shoes when entering someone's home is a typical Alaskan custom. It makes a lot of sense when living in the rain forest! Did you notice how clean the carpets are? It makes a difference!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Ann's Gavin Hill B&B is really quite nice, with pleasant rooms and a nice proprietor. There is a shared bathroom for the 3 upstairs rooms, but I did not find that to be a problem.

I understand that the B&B is her house, but she is running a commercial establishment, and my husband and I felt like we were treated like children a few times. First, you must remove your shoes before entering the house. Then when my husband brought a cup of coffee upstairs to our room before breakfast was served, Ann called after him to come back and get a saucer; that cups are not allowed without saucers.

That being said, Ann provided a wonderful breakfast and did give some suggestions as to how to enjoy Sitka, which we certainly did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HiDeeHo0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

OK, the place is a bit crowded with knickknacks, curios, objects, mops and what have you. But we were in someone else's home, and that's so Alaska. Shared bathroom? True, but not a big problem though one we prefer to avoid. Bedroom quite comfortable. Butt he key is Ann. She's someone special. A true Alaskan, though her origins are Texan. Hunter, fisherperson (?) photographer, cook, guide, and hostess, she combines all these qualities. The breakfasts (three nights) were copious and hot, the facilities (laundry) were appreciated, and Ann's spontaneous willingness to drive us out to the dam and the Bear Fortress helped make our stay in Sitka one of the most pleasant stops in our five week trip through BC and Alaska..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMCss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I made an email reservation which Ann Bills confirmed and then I sent in my check. She returned the check, saying someone else mailed their check in faster.

This is a very odd reservation system. Could be an indicator of other problems.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.6 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sitka
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.4 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
Aspen Suites Hotel Sitka
#12 of 14 in Sitka
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 415 Arrowhead St, Sitka, AK 99835-7214
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing