We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B&B experience!”

Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This was one of our favorite stays on a ferry trip through SE Alaska. Ann and her family offer a good location in town, great bedroons with twin, queen or king beds, nice decorations in each room, lots of movies to view in the room, tv in the common area, free use of their computer or wifi. And the full cooked breakfasts were fabulous!!! Such a treat after the continental or "fix it yourself' style that is becoming more common. And served so beautifully! Each of three mornings there was a different decor for the dining table--a lovely touch!
All the comments below about Ann's friendliness, helpfulness and amenities reflect our experience. Rules? It is her house and we were guests, so why not honor simple requests which make the surroundings more pleasant for those who follow and for the family? Removing shoes when entering someone's home is a typical Alaskan custom. It makes a lot of sense when living in the rain forest! Did you notice how clean the carpets are? It makes a difference!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elliott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 50 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

Ann's Gavin Hill B&B is really quite nice, with pleasant rooms and a nice proprietor. There is a shared bathroom for the 3 upstairs rooms, but I did not find that to be a problem.

I understand that the B&B is her house, but she is running a commercial establishment, and my husband and I felt like we were treated like children a few times. First, you must remove your shoes before entering the house. Then when my husband brought a cup of coffee upstairs to our room before breakfast was served, Ann called after him to come back and get a saucer; that cups are not allowed without saucers.

That being said, Ann provided a wonderful breakfast and did give some suggestions as to how to enjoy Sitka, which we certainly did.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HiDeeHo0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

OK, the place is a bit crowded with knickknacks, curios, objects, mops and what have you. But we were in someone else's home, and that's so Alaska. Shared bathroom? True, but not a big problem though one we prefer to avoid. Bedroom quite comfortable. Butt he key is Ann. She's someone special. A true Alaskan, though her origins are Texan. Hunter, fisherperson (?) photographer, cook, guide, and hostess, she combines all these qualities. The breakfasts (three nights) were copious and hot, the facilities (laundry) were appreciated, and Ann's spontaneous willingness to drive us out to the dam and the Bear Fortress helped make our stay in Sitka one of the most pleasant stops in our five week trip through BC and Alaska..

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMCss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

I made an email reservation which Ann Bills confirmed and then I sent in my check. She returned the check, saying someone else mailed their check in faster.

This is a very odd reservation system. Could be an indicator of other problems.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank massiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

There are more elaborate B&B's, but there are few with as kind and outgoing a hostess as Ann's Gavan. This was our second time after staying here five years ago. Ann is so helpful in locating reasonable places to eat and good places to visit.

Shared bath was never a problem for us. Easy walking distance to most everything in Sitka. Breakfast is very good considering the reasonable price.

Ironically, Ann did not realize she has wi-fi, but she did as her husband tried to explain to her..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We had two rooms here in June 2008 and had a decent experience. The rooms were comfortable and clean. You have to share a bathroom with other guests, but it didn't turn out to be too much of a problem, as there are actually many bathrooms in the house. The house itself is on three floors and somewhat jumbled. Looks like it has been remodeled several times. There was a bit too much clutter around for my taste -- ie: mops on the front porch, knick knacks everywhere -- but I guess it adds personality to the place. Ann's breakfasts were huge and delicious -- breakfast burrito, eggs benedict, that sort of thing. There's a refrigerator and stove on the bottom floor that you can use if you want to cook something yourself. We really enjoyed the other guests -- everyone has breakfast together -- and I learned a lot from them (one couple had lived in Sika before). It's a quick walk to downtown -- about 10 minutes. After looking at the prices of hotels in Sitka, which are pretty bland and corporate and twice the price of Ann's, I was glad we chose to stay there.

Regarding restaurants...it's a pretty limited selection. We were pleased, however, to find Ludwig's selling whole, steamed Dungeness crab in the parking lot behind Brennan's for $15. It was fun sitting on plastic chairs, dipping crab in butter in the fresh Sitka air. They also offered a spicy clam chowder that was excellent. We also liked the restaurant in back of the bookstore.

Sitka is packed when the cruise ships are in -- but once they leave about 6:00 p.m., the place is deserted and feels like it's all yours.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Ann's for 2 nights in 2007 while traveling via marine ferry, and we just loved it. Ann made us feel as if we were visiting family members in Alaska. Her breakfasts were excellent, the rooms were homey and comfortable (although not lavish), but her personal service was above and beyond. She demonstrated great attention to detail, and is a very interesting person. We felt she really added to our Alaska experience and we would definitely return if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Sitka again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mswaxcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.6 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#3 of 8 in Sitka
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#2 of 8 in Sitka
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 415 Arrowhead St, Sitka, AK 99835-7214
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Price Range: $80 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ann's Gavan Hill Bed & Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing