We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not expecting this in Sitka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludvig's Bistro

Ludvig's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not expecting this in Sitka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

After disembarking from a small cruise trip, we stayed an extra day in Sitka and before the trip I checked on possible restaurants for that day. After reading the reviews, I made a reservation at Ludwigs. I was certainly glad I had done that because it would not have been possible to get a reservation once we got there, and we would have missed out on a great meal. The place is very small, but interestingly appointed with a nod to the Mediterranean. The menu was a mix of all sorts of interesting dishes - we had a terrine of slow-cooked pork with duck fat (probably high calorie, but OMG delicious), a halibut seviche and other tasty dishes. The wine and service was excellent. We noticed that they had an upstairs Tapas bar with live music that same night (also sold out). It was certainly not inexpensive, but relative to the prices in general in Sitka, not bad.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    50
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey, but yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

Make no mistake, food in Alaska is expensive, and this restaurant is more expensive than any other we were in. The food is great, the service is great, but the place is very small. Seats about 25; you will need reservations which you must make weeks in advance. With a glass of wine each, and one shared dessert, two soups (don't miss the chowder) and two entres, and adding tax and tip the bill was $180. They will split a large soup and the paella if you ask them.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inventive food in a unique environment.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We ate in the upstairs tapas bar. It was pricy, but the food was fun and fresh. A tappa comes free with a glass of wine during happy hour and Wednesday evening there is live music. We heard a local guitar duo that sang and played 60s and 70s music in a bluesy way. Terrific. Imported cheeses, house made duck sausage, good bread, fig spread and other goodies were all delicious. The main dining room is more expensive, but we heard good reviews about it. Probably best to make reservations if you want the full dining experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The wine bar upstairs was the best feature”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Fortunately they were delayed so we could enjoy a nice upstairs wine bar.
For appetizer we shared a calamari that came boiled and overwhelmed with garlic. Then their most quoted dish-a Paella which tasted homogenized since you could not taste each "fresh" ingredient since they were overwhelmed by the sauce. A real disappointment

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank peter1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best food in Southeast Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Ludvig's would be an excellent restaurant anywhere. In the Sitka, population 9,000, it's extraordinary. Open seasonally, the restaurant's 4-6 tables are virtually always full--we typically call three to four weeks in advance for reservations. The space is tiny, and it's not unusual to strike up a conversation with diners at the next table. While there are dishes featuring meat and poultry on the Mediterrean-influenced menu, you can eat that anywhere, so please order a dish featuring the local seafood for which Sitka is famous. The portions are sized to satisfy charter fisherman who have been up since dawn eating crackers and peanut butter, and are large enough for most people to share. If you don't love garlic, be sure to let your server know. The wine list is creative, and Ludvig's serves several Alaska brews. There is always a choice of desserts, but we've never been able to bring ourselves to order anything other than the creme brûlée. If you're going to have one special meal on your trip to Alaska, plan to eat at Ludvig's.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank just_common_sense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludvig's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ludvig's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing