We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard To Get In, Worth It If You Do”
Review of Ludvig's Bistro

Ludvig's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Hard To Get In, Worth It If You Do”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It really is best to book a table but if you do, make it by phone - we went to the restaurant during the morning and the owner was adamant that bookings could only be made by phone! That said, this restaurant in a colourful and characterful little building along Katlian Avenue is a gem. You can be sure it will be full but the welcome and the service are warm. The menu is described, probably fairly, as "rustic Mediterranean" but there's a strong leaning towards Spanish. There's lots of fresh local seafood, bread made on the premises and a menu that immediately raises the problem of what to leave out. All we can say is that we had calamari as a shared starter, lamb meatballs and halibut as shared mains and a couple of glasses of pleasant wine. No room for desserts - oh what a pity!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    51
    16
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service in the Last Frontier”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Hospitality, great cuisine, casual elegance. Colette, Chef and Owner is amazing. Great place where locals and visitors merge. Small place with warm ambience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sitkawanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
351 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“AUG 2013 DINNER”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

After many years of visiting Sitka and eating in many of th area's restaurants, I discovered this little hidden (well almost) gem - it is simply incredible. A small but cozy resturant with a differen kind of menu to please most tastes - from seafood to meat dishes. The available wines and beer are also excellent. Actually had heard about thi place the yar before, but could not get in durin my stay. It will be a continuous MUST dinner-event for each future trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
165 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ambiance and service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We ended up at Ludvigs because the next door Mexican restaurant didn't have margaritas and it was an excellent find! We were welcomed right away. This Bistro is very small and intimate with great lighting. The menu was small, but there were options for tapas and entrees. I had the pasta dish and it was big enough for two meals.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice to find a good restaurant in tiny Sitka”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place was surprisingly good. I didn't expect much because vegetables have to be flown into Sitka, but the food was fresh and varied and well-prepared with delicious sauces. Of course, fish is always the best choice for an entree in Alaska. I ate there in July of 2010 even though this wasn't an available date selection when I wrote my belated review.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank food_nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludvig's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ludvig's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing