We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tiny waterfront jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ludvig's Bistro

Ludvig's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Palmer, Alaska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tiny waterfront jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Absolutely the best restaurant meal I've ever had. Wonderful Mediterranean style food, all fresh ingredients, well balanced menu selection, excellent service. Be sure to make reservations - they turn out quality, not quantity and seating is limited. A must-visit if you're in Sitka.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    50
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of those rare gems...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Food was incredible, service was splendid, value was worth it! Make a reservation and enjoy a wonderful atmosphere and feel like a celebrity in this very small and intimate, almost exclusive, fine dining restaurant! No need to wear a tie which is great, but also the kind of place you can dress to impress. Drink wine and live like the 1% for a night, haha!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CorinH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“We'll be coming back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I decided to get the Mixed Grill Plate with the gorgonzola sauce. It was amazing. Heavy and garlicky, but amazing! I loved our service. I wish I could remember her name.... she was great. Overall, the atmosphere was intimate and so comfortable...even at our small table. Reserve in advance! Dessert was excellent as well. Salted chocolate torte with huckleberry sauce. Just....yes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank caitieo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“All I saw was the chowder!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were racing back to get the last tender to our ship so we didn't actually get to visit the science center, but we DID have the chowder complete with a piece of bread that was to die for.

With the throwaway cup and spoon, I felt like we were at camp, not a restaurant, and that spicy chowder made me want to just stay for the week.

Helpful?
Thank JetTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
207 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Popular, one of a kind place in Sitka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Friendly service, good menu with unusual preparations, seasonal. Takes reservations but good to book a few days ahead in peak season. We got in with party of 6 at 5pm by splitting up into 4 and 2, promising to be out by 6:30pm, and four of us sat at a bar area. Worth it. My halibut was excellent, fresh beautiful green bean accompaniment and a fine beet salad to start. The restaurant is small, feels cozy and warm, very alive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dickanddoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludvig's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ludvig's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing