We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best clam chowder...ever!”
Review of Ludvig's Bistro

Ludvig's Bistro
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Marshall
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The best clam chowder...ever!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did not actually eat in the bistro, but we purchased a cup of chowder in the building beside the Science Center. It was Ludwig's Chowder made with chorizo sausage and lots of clams. It was served with a slice of bread and it was out of this world! If you are in Sitka, do not leave without sampling the clam chowder. It was beyond expectation. We sat outside at a picnic table and watched the salmon jumping and also being caught by a huge sea lion. A great Alaskan memory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meems316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    56
    17
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We traveled to Sitka a couple of days before the rest of the family joined us. We had made reservations in advance - a must! The food is outstanding, and the service is superb. We have 2 young grandsons and realized it was not the place to take them. However, we did make reservations for our daughter and son-in-law. Between the 4 of us, we sampled a good share of the menu - calamari appetizer, chowder, duck, halibut, and paella - all were exceptional! A must stop in Sitka!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
576 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Eclectic”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our first dinner in town. This place actually has 2 parts - we ate upstairs in their tapas bar.

Very tasty tapas. Tab for 3 persons, including beer and wine came to $74

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ludvig (correct spelling) rocks”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A very small, but world class dining experience. Make reservations! We had cioppino. The fish had been gently simmered in a wonderful broth. A great tapas to start with were the Tuscan scallops with capers. if they are on the menu try them. Linguine was fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillandCandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unexpected excellence”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wonderful quality,presentation and service at this small 6 table establishment.We appreciated
pretravel recommendations by fellow Trip Advisor diners.
Reservations are indeed essential.While we were there one diner submitted a reservation request for NEXT summer.Ludwigs now has a Tapas and wine bar above the restaurant.It is a welcome place to wait for your table if it is raining other than a couple bar stools there is no inside waiting area.

The generous halibut entree (Kaitlan Halibut/38.00) was excellent as was the cup of clam chowder that should not be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ludvig's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Ludvig's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing