We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great intro to the history of Sitka” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russian Bishop's House

Russian Bishop's House
Ranked #6 of 45 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located within the Sitka National Historical Park, this is one of the last surviving examples of Russian colonial architecture in North America.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great intro to the history of Sitka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were here on an afternoon when there were no cruise ships, so the town was quiet. We bribed my kids with lunch first, but the bride turned out not to be necessary, because they found it interesting. I highly recommend doing the upstairs tour. The park service guide was enthusiastic and very informed; he made the history real for us by relaying anecdotes about the building and the people who lived in it, as well as fitting it all into a larger perspective.

Helpful?
Thank ZorroCat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    58
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast,Qld
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Russian Bishop's House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very informative particularly the video. Interesting to see how this house was built and the story of the Bishop's influence on the Tlingit people.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suedickens_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Russian Bishop's House is one of the most popular sites in Sitka. We were traveling independently, and the keys to our enjoyment of this historical building were: (1) arriving early before the hoards of cruise ship passengers got there and (2) taking the optional tour (for a modest fee) of the second floor rather than limiting our visit to the free first floor museum. The site is managed by the National Park Service and our guide for the tour -- a park ranger -- was informed and informative.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank terrymarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“History Junkie Fix”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Pay the extra $4 for tour... Short but interesting. Just enough of a history teaser to make you wanna learn more... At least that's what I did!

Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherFrozenToeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“An introduction to Russian history and a remarkable man”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

While the downstairs is free to visit without a fee, I'd strongly encourage visitors to pay the price for an upstairs tour. Together, the brief video, exhibits and upstairs living quarters provide an introduction to a remarkable time in Sitka and the person of the bishop who first lived here in the 1840's. Many of the items are original and the private chapel of the Bishop was lovely to see. I found myself wanting to upgrade my knowledge of Russian Orthodoxy and to read more about this period of history.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SkipJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Russian Bishop's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing