We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting, but not for everyone”

St. Michael's Cathedral
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear
Ranked #5 of 45 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not for everyone”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My mom and I enjoyed learning about the historic St. Michael's Catedral, we also saw amazing art work, sculptures, and artifacts. The entrance fee is nominal and helps with the restoration/maintanence of the cathedral. However my partner was extremely bored and disinterested. Apparently my Catholic upbringing brought back a bit of nostaglia. Interesting attraction in Sitka, but not everyone will appreciate it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Winter_Grrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    71
    34
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
212 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth taking time to visit.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

On July 4, 2012 while in Sitka as a port of call during an Alaskan cruise on the Westerndam, I visited this church. Our guide, Carolyn, explained the history & significance of this church. She was able to explain the various icons. It is now mainly a native American church. I bought a booklet about the church to bring home to read.
This was a part of a tour of Sitka. I found it worthwhile.
Later on that afternoon was able to meet the bishop, a very nice individual.

Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingDiva13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
126 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The heart of Sitka”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

While we visited here during our week in Sitka, we also returned on Sunday morning to be part of their regular worship service at 9:30 A.M. This turned out to be a highlight of our entire trip, as we were welcomed as part of the community and had an opportunity to visit with the priest over coffee at the conclusion of the service. One of the parishioners thanked us for staying for the whole service (apparently most visitors leave after a few minutes) and then greeted us warmly on the street several days later. If you've never experienced an Orthodox service, this is a great place to start. For Protestants it is a radically different type of worship. While the original building burned in the 1960's, the current church is filled with icons and items from the first. Its also a strong connection to the priest who had lived in the Bishop's House just a hundred yards or so down the road. Note the location of the church, right in the middle of the town, where it served as the center of the community. Worth a visit to take in its beauty, but also worthy of a place to worship.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SkipJAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
1,431 reviews
920 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,063 helpful votes
“Part of the history of Sitka”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We visited this beautiful church while visiting Sitka as a port of call of our Alaska cruise . This Russian Orthodox Cathedral , located in the center of Sitka , is both beautiful inside and outside .
It is more appreciated if one has already visited the Russian Bishop's House not too far from there ; then it clearly establishes the importance of the Orthodox religion in Early-Alaska and why the worship was so important to the inhabitants .

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelerewl
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful jewel of a cathedral”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Sitka is so small and out of the way, I never expected to enter such a lovely Russian Orthodox Cathedral. It was a jewel of a church built by the Russians when Sitka was their Alaskan seat of government.
Filled with some beautiful icons, I could see why parishioners formed a human chain to save these historical treasurers when the cathedral burned down in 1966. That they were able to rebuild it using original drawings for the building are a testament to their love for this small, intimate house of worship.
A definite must for anyone visiting Sitka.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelerewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Michael's Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing