We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best discovery on moderate budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our best discovery on moderate budget”
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This was where we ended our 9 night trip through four Inside Passage towns. And of our other three sleeping quarters this was the most relaxing, had the best service and friendliest staff, the best breakfast experience of all the rest ... although once again FRUIT in Alaska seems fairly sparse. Other than a variety of fruit juices, they could only muster apples and pears the first of three mornings, and only apples on the second and third mornings. But if you're happy with starchy and sugary foods, you'll be right. The room was spacious compared to our others, solid floors and plenty of surfaces. And we had an amazing view of the waterfront. The free WiFi had three signals to choose from and it was strong and steady over the three-night stay. We were blogging so needed a reliable signal. The television was actually functional and we didn't need a 30 minute lesson to navigate. And they have a shuttle cargo van to get you to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    37
    44
    22
    10
See reviews for
23
44
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Great location, well run hotel - not fancy but good value. Only problem is noisy bar close by the hotel.

Staff really nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Very happy with the quality and staff, especially for the price I paid. They charge one price which included everything from shuttle to breakfast to wireless and more. Staff very professional but personable. Restaurant was resonable for lunch and dinner with a beautiful view, right on the water with eagles flying by.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Shee Atika was clean and comfortable. Room was fine, a bit warm, so we opened the window. Proximity to the center of town in Sitka (pretty much everything within a one mile radius, great walking) was terrific. However, the bar across the street didn't close till 2 AM and because we wanted our window open to sleep it was a bit noisy; also some activity along the docks was louder than desirable. All in all though staff was friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, and complimentary breakfast was great (standard selection of cereals, pastries, breads, milk, coffee, OJ).

We loved Sitka- don't miss the Larkspur Cafe just across the lawn in the little white house- great organic food and sometimes live music! Was open more than many places, too. Agave was decent Mexican food. Surprisingly good shopping, esp liked Brenner's and Mountain Miss. Lots to see too- walked thru the Russian Orthodox cemetery in the woods, the VA cemetery, part of the Totem Park, and the old Russian Bishop's House, attended church at the Episcopal St. Peter's with lovely people! We'd like to come back- several things were not open Sundays. Come and spend several days here at least!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vivace72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The Shee Atika is a good hotel, conveniently located in Sitka, allowing easy walking access to all local amenities and attractions. I stayed in a twin room on the fourth floor of the hotel. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, able to offer local advice for sightseeing and hiking ideas. Coin-operated washing machines and dryers were available, which came in very handy after three weeks on the road.

The one downside was that my room was on the street side, on the fourth floor in direct line of sight of a bar that didn't close until 2:00am, which meant that I did get some noise as inebriated folk fell out on to the street. Luckily, I always travel with earplugs, just in case, so it wasn't a problem.

Finally, one thing I did enjoy was reading the book in the room describing the history of the financial settlement between the US government and the Native Alaskan tribes, which led to the formation of the Shee Atika Corp. It's not often you get a history lesson provided in your hotel room!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astroventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica CA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

The hotel it self isnt spectacular; the rooms are small and basic. But the views are fine, and the staff is really nice and knowledgable (except they couldnt explain Mrs. Palin, and her resignation antics) and it is so nice to not be overcharged for every little thing. They even allow 20 minutes free local calls a day.
We wedged our family of 4 in a room, and it was tight, but we were fine. The folks are so nice that our 11 year old was quite comfortable going somewhere else to read while we dealt with the 3 year old's bedtime meltdown, an inevitable part of alaska in the summer, where the sun definately does not help by putting itself to bed at a reasonable hour.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockclimberfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2009

The service at this hotel was average. The young girl at the counter when we arrived seemed a bit confused and almost frightened when we arrived. She gave us good directions to the hotel room, but she did not offer to help us with our luggage and there wasn't anyone to help. Having flown 6 hours from Chicago I was expecting some assistance with the amount of luggage we had for a 5 night stay. There was not room service, which was disappointing because the Westmark Hotel offerred room service. The rest of the staff was courteous, and when we asked them questions about the island they were very knowledgable.

The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. There was good room for storage and great views of the water, harbor, downtown, and historic nursing home. The room was probably the smallest hotel room we have ever seen, but we did have a corner room. The room was dated, but not worn. The heating was very good and the windows were operational allowing fresh Alaskan air into the room. The bathroom was small but fully functional.

The location of the hotel was very convenient to everything. It was an easy walk to the waterfront, downtown, shops, restaurants, and historic sites. It was also good to have a rental car so that you could drive around the rest of the island. The amenities at the hotel were minimal, but we enjoyed the vending machines, microwave, and adjacent asian restaurant with harbour views.

We liked the views, cleanliness, location, value, and dining the most. We disliked some of the staff and the size of the room would be very unexceptible for more than 2 adults and a child.

I would recommend this hotel and the Westmark Sitka for someone who is coming to Sitka. I would request a corner room for the views.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank destoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.2 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sitka
21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#3 of 19 in Sitka
99 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
0.3 mi away
Longliner Lodge and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Square Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Square Hotel & Marina

Property: Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Address: 201 Katlian St, Sitka, AK 99835-7511 (Formerly Shee Atika Totem Square Inn)
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Sitka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Totem Square Hotel & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Totem Square Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shee Atika Totem Square Hotel Sitka
Totem Square Hotel & Marina Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing