We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Park!”

Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$206.25*
and up
Sitka Super Saver: Whale-Watching Cruise and City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Laurel, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Park!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were on a cruise so our time was limited. Wish we would have had more time to wander through the paths. Did get to see Salmon spawning for the first time!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SeaTheWorldNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    156
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Historic & beautiful !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The video in the visitor center - then the totems on the forest trail are superb !

Watching the salmon spawning - whilst the seagulls & eagles lay in wait was quite koool !

The rangers on the staff were very friendly & helpful !

And... watching the native american craftsmen work was interesting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great walk, views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautiful Vistor Center, trails with views of water and lots of totem poles. Its approx. 15 min. walk back to town but if you take the shuttle to the Fortress of the Bear. Afterwards Driver will drop people (at their request) at the Raptor center or Sitka Totem Park when returning passengers to Sitka.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jasminecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous at salmon spawning time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

It was on an uncommonly sunny day that we strolled the gravel paths at this beautiful park... and it was truly beautiful and meaningful with all of the historic totem poles, here and there under the huge trees. We also happened to be there during the spawning time for the Pink salmon in the adjacent Indian River... which was the most amazing phenomenon we'd ever seen. The totems, the huge trees, the trails, the spawning salmon, it will be with us always.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heanyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The movie that the park shows is very informative about the development of this area. We are always interested in the history of places we visit. Our only regret is that we didn't have enough time allotted to see all that we wanted to see here.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank zeeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park also viewed

 

Been to Sitka National Historic Park/Totem Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing