We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique repurposing of an old pulp mill”

Fortress of the Bear
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique repurposing of an old pulp mill”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Very nice elevated viewing are to see into the 2 enclosures. Be there for a feeding-the bears use sign language to communicate with the keeper. Happiest and most active captive bears that we have ever seen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank THRCCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    113
    37
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alaska Days”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Don't miss this! The bears are amazing. The chance to see them in this place is incredible. Kudo's to the people who are running it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank aly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We chanced onto this when riding the city bus. The driver told us that would be an interesting stop as did a couple returning from the fortress. We had a bit of an adventure walking to the site in a gentle drizzle, but the fortress was well worth it. The founder was there and explained the rescue program. He gave out a great deal of information on the bears and the care they received. All of the people involved in the project were friendly and helpful. This is a great opportunity to see the bears and learn about them in a uncrowded, non-touristy environmen. We have told all of our friends about it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cece P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
165 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Toby wanted more fish”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I don't particularly like zoos and was apprehensive about Fortress of the Bear, it was one of my favorite stops in Sitka. The bears were enjoying fish and it was so much fun seeing the bears up close.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
212 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Sitka Tour”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stopped on a cruise and took a 3-4 hour wilderness tour. This was one of our favorite stops. The caretaker came out into the "treehouse'' while we were observing and the bears when into rare form. The bears were very "playful" and active while we were there. We got many great photos and was better than seeing bears in a zoo pen.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jchuran83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortress of the Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing