We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't know bears were so trainable!”

Fortress of the Bear
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Sitka Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Sitka Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear
More Info
$206.25*
and up
Sitka Super Saver: Whale-Watching Cruise and City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #3 of 47 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Didn't know bears were so trainable!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The couple from England are remarkable hosts for this site and are volunteers who really are knowledgeable about and partners with the bears. A worthwhile time spent and a place that really needs more funding for a good cause.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    135
    47
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“noble cause but need some cash”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

bears were very funny and entertaining. noble causee. Great job with what they have but they need some cash

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pmzman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great chance to see brown bears up close!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff were very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. Be aware that in the summer of 2013 there is road construction and you may be waiting for an hour or more and paying for a taxi!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fssem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Not worth the trip”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a couple of hours in Sitka before our plane left for home and wanted to see the Raptor center. The bus to the Fortress of the Bear would drop us off at he Raptor center on the way back so we took it. The Fortress of the Bear is really just a zoo. The intentions are good ... save bear cubs from death but they're now in a zoo instead. We saw live and free bears in other locations and were in a way disappointed to see them in a captured environment. Also, the bus wasn't to be back for more than an hour. Sorry, 10 - 15 minutes was enough so we had to bribe the driver of another tour to take us back to Sitka.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bears, oh my.”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

It was wonderful to be able to see these bears up close. The folks who run the Fortress have a daunting task that is executed beautifully.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachygrl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortress of the Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing