We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a must see”

Fortress of the Bear
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.50*
and up
Sitka Shore Excursion: City Sightseeing Tour including Fortress of the Bear
Ranked #3 of 45 things to do in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Definitely a must see”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Don't miss this great bear rehabilitation and care facility. These bears are well cared for and will perform many tricks for you - but mostly for their loved caretakers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    122
    42
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't leave Sitka without visiting the Fortress!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have to admit that at first I wasn't interested in visiting the Fortress of the Bears. I'm a wee bit afraid of bears in general and just wasn't interested. But as soon as I arrived and met the bears, I couldn't believe I almost missed it. What the Fortress does for brown bears is incredible; they take in brown bear cubs who have lost their mothers and raise them until they're old enough to go to a zoo. Do you know what happens to cubs in Alaska when their mother is killed? They're killed too. This organization gives them another chance. Definitely visit because your money goes towards these bears. The owner even let us feed apples to the bears through a safety gate. It was an amazing experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloomalumni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbank, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“WOWEEEZOOTZ ! KNOCK YER SOX OFF !”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place is soooo fascinating !

These orphaned brown bears (2 sets of siblings) give you an "up close & personal" experience ... and the dedicated staff will share whatever info you might desire about them.

This was a VEREEEE unique experience (to say the least) - especially since we were able to watch the founder & his asst feed the bears LIVE salmon !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank wayne963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Support the Bears, well worth the visit.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Loved it, bears adorable. Our driver was Ron, a volunteer who was great. Their shuttle is parked by the visitor booth on the dock. Cost $3.00 return for shuttle (Bear admission $10.00) but what was really great on the return to the dock Ron will drop people off at the Rapture center, Sitka park with totem poles with approx return for pick-up an hour each one.
We didn't realize the Rapture was close to the bears and had booked a tour to visit the Rapture center so DON'T BOOK SEPARATE TOURS.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank jasminecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“a must do!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am so glad I got to experience the Fortress of the Bear - it was one of the most memorable tours of my whole Alaska adventure. If you have time in Sitka - do not miss going here - your entrance fee helps to feed and pay for the bear cubs that have been saved from being killed.

I had researched the Fortress of the Bear before heading to Alaska and read that they have a shuttle bus from the port area for only $3. This is no longer true. The shuttle has been discontinued for the remainder of the season and I don't know if it will be re-instated for next year (2013). Apparently the driver of the shuttle has found another full time job and has not been replaced right now. So the only way to get here is to take an expensive cab ride (around $40 return) or to book a tour. We chose to book at tour from the port (Sitka Wildlife Adventure) that included Fortress of the Bear. It was $50 and included our $10 entrance fee to the Fortress. It was worth every penny. Our tour guide, Bruce was a wealth of information and told us the history of the location and the bears. He was involved in the construction so he had an insider's insight into what was going on. They struggled to obtain a permit for the location and to be allowed to look after the bears. The owner got the permit just in time to save three bear cubs from being killed or slowly starving to death as their mother had already been killed. These bears now weigh about 600 pounds each and are very playful. An additional two males are located there as well and they weigh in at 1000 pounds.

It was rainy the day we were there so the bears were very playful (they are sluggish in the heat). I got lots of great photos and video of the bears. You can't believe how close the bears are and the fact that you get to watch them in action. It is truly worth the trip. Do not miss going if you are in Sitka....you won't regret it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank islndgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fortress of the Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing