We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“**Fantastic Tour** "Make it your first choice when visiting Sitka"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallant Adventures

Gallant Adventures
Ranked #2 of 30 Tours in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Intimately observe and learn about whales, sea otters, brown bears, Stellar sea lions, puffins and bald eagles while on a personable marine wildlife boat tour with a 100 ton Master captain, Alaskan field geologist and mountain climber as your guide. There is truly no better way to experience the Real Sitka!
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“**Fantastic Tour** "Make it your first choice when visiting Sitka"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We read reviews about Gallant Adventures when planning our trip to Alaska and we were not disappointed, Paul is the most knowledgable and personable tour guide you could wish to meet.His enthusiasm for the whales and other wildlife and his determination to make sure you have a close up and personal view of the wildlife is second to none.
Thanks Paul for a day that will live with us for ever Alan & Chris Garbett

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of our favorite parts of our whole trip!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

My mother in law booked this tour for us and she went off nothing more than Paul's Trip Advisor ratings- and what a good choice she made!!!! We were celebrating a family anniversary with a cruise and decided to experience Sitka with Paul out on the open seas. He was more than enjoyable..... Super passionate about his love of the seas and wildlife and did everything in his power to make our morning memorable and sooooo enjoyable. We loved spotting whales then following them as Paul predicted their next move. It was very exciting. We fell in love with the Sea Otters, seals and sea lions. According to Paul we were out on the water on one of the foggiest mornings of the entire season..... But that did not stop him from ensuring a great time for all of us. We explored a really neat island and the tide was low enough for us to enter a cave-like area and view literally wall to wall starfish, sea anemones, and such. Really colorful and beautiful. Thanks Paul! Hope to see you again on our next trip !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
“Amazing Experience -- you will not regret!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My recent trip on an Alaska cruise with co-workers was fun -- but Paul from Gallant Adventures made it memorable, exhilarating, exciting!!!!

We were hesitant to not book with the cruiseline -- but we were so glad we made this decision!!! Paul made sure from start to finish that we had an amazing time, saw tons of wildlife, and got back to the dock in plenty of time to tender to our ship! We were able to see whales, sea lions, sea otters, eagles, star fish, deer, salmon, etc, etc!!!! We were able to stay in the cabin or go out on the back, and he provided us with drinks as well. Paul's personality is what I loved most. He LOVES what he does! He got as excited as we did when we saw the wildlife! His passion shows in his work, and made our trip worth every penny. At the end of the trip we felt as if we made a new friend, which made us sad to leave!!!! :)

He also went out of his way (by tracking a taxit cab down!) to find a lost souvenir for me -- which I will be ever so grateful for! So, if you are on the fence about booking -- don't hesitate! Book now, you will have absolutely no regrets. :) If you are reading this -- Mahalo again, Paul!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank shafferrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Tour Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The Whale and Wildlife Tour with Gallant Adventures in Sitka Sound was perhaps the best tour I have ever gone on. We saw lots of wildlife, up close and with a delightful captain who provided in depth commentary and an extra hour and a half of viewing time. I got my first successful whale photo, and also a video of a whale diving. We were so close we could hear the whales breathing and feel the spray from the blow holes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RDU
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“WOW! What an Amazing Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Booked this boat tour privately as cruise trip wasn't exactly what we were looking for. What a find! Paul is very passionate about what he does and knows exactly where to go to find the birds and whales among other things. Made it to St. Lazaria Island as a great bonus. Saw all the birds we had hoped for on the island. Saw Grey Whales along the way and Humpbacks on the way back. Paul knows exactly where they are heading and positioned the boat accordingly. He knows their behavior and told us when the deep dive was coming. Postcard pictures of the tail. Amazing! Contact Paul for tour instead of the huge boatloads from cruise. Nice boat and great captain.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JayBoRdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gallant Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing