We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of Alaska”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raven's Peek Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sitka
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best of Alaska”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights on our first visit to Sitka. It was the highlight of our 10 day trip to Alaska. The property was great and the room very nice but the best part was the owners, Mike and Marilyn. They went out of their way to make our stay fabulous including taking us to the ferry at 1:30 am instead of us getting a taxi. Mike setup my husband's fishing trip and he caught a King on the first hook!! There is one main bedroom and bath with a 2nd bedroom designed for kids. Since it was just us, we had the place to ourselves and full use of the hot tub and deck overlooking the Sitka Sound. We lit the propane fire pit (there was a wood one too) and stay out until it got dark. The breakfast was great and I felt like royalty. Their place is decorated with lots of Alaska works and it's beautiful, especially the one-of-a-kind huge Raven and Mermaid!! The rooms are large, very clean and we had use of the TV den with an open bar. We are already talking about when we can return and stay an entire week.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fachambers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at Raven's Peek B&B in May. The hosts, Mike and Marilyn, are wonderful and go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They offer advice on things to do and see in the area and offer great conversation, making you feel like old friends.

The main bedroom is inviting and clean. The bed is extremely comfortable, which is great after a long day of sightseeing. The bathroom was roomy and clean, offering a towel warmer and bathrobes. They offer guests a separate TV room for their own use with a large screen TV, and since they only rent out to one group at a time, you will have this room to yourselves.

The deck off the bedroom is incredible! They offer guests a hot tub, sauna, and outdoor fire pit. The views over Sitka Sound are breathtaking with some of the most beautiful sunsets you will ever see. Our last night we relaxed in the hot tub watching the sunset, followed by roasting marshmallows we bought at the local store over then open fire pit. I can not think of a better way to end our visit in Sitka.

The breakfasts Mike serves are plentiful and delicious. While many B&B's offer the same continental style breakfast every morning, Mike puts a lot of effort into his daily breakfasts, making something new and fresh each morning. We greatly enjoyed all of his breakfasts served with his own brand of coffee, roasted in the home. Book a stay at Raven's Peek, and you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Any visit to beautiful Sitka offers a great time but Raven's Peek B&B kicks it up a notch with excellent hospitality, lovely accommodations and a million dollar view. After driving up the steep winding driveway to Raven's Peek B&B, the moment we stepped through the inn's front door of we felt welcomed. Hostess Marilyn showed us to our room, pointing out all the amenities as well as giving us a tour of the television room and breakfast area. Reserving the Master Suite for our stay, we were the only guests; guests can engage one room or both of the guest rooms (great for couples traveling together or a small family). Either option reserves the property for the individual party and no other visitors so one's privacy is ensured.

Our room (the Master's Suite) was very comfortable with a large inviting chair that begged one to sit and relax awhile. There is a view of mountains and water below (best enjoyed from the outside deck or breakfast room). The bed had a very comfortable mattress. Linens were clean and bright, appearing new as well as coordinated. The only thing that would be an improvement is a bedside table on both sides of the bed (there is only one bedside table). Access to an outdoor deck allows one to use the outdoor hot tub. During our April 2013 visit a sauna was being constructed on the deck for guest use. Best of all, the view from the deck of the Old Sitka Rocks and a portion of Sitka Sound is outstanding. A bit of Mt Edgecumbe's icy snowcap can be viewed peeking from above nearby mountains. In fair weather it's a treat to sit on the deck watching eagles and ravens gliding below the hill. During mid-April humpback whales were also giving us a good show far out in the water while fishing boats sailed past.

The private en suite bath is roomy, modern and spotless with thick, fresh towels. Tip: be sure your toiletry kit has a loop for hanging; there is only a pedestal sink and a tiny shelf for placement of a few personal items such as a toothpaste, a hairbrush or shaving cream, etc.

To access the room one ascends a long staircase. The hosts also offer a small lift that moves very slowly if one has difficulty navigating the stairway.

There is a separate television room set aside for guest use. A large screen television, big cushy chairs and a small refrigerator for guests' beverages or snacks are located in this room.

Too tired to dine out on two nights, we carried in a meal fom SeaMart grocer and ordered in Chinese food. Our hosts kindly allow the use of dishes and cutlery for carry in meals.

Breakfasts are ample! Host Mike prides himself on making his guests a huge, tasty Alaskan breakfast. Catering to guests' tastes, Mike will do all he can to make his guests happy. Not big breakfast eaters, Mike toned down my husband's and my breakfast at our request but we still had a big breakfast with fruit, immense breakfast rolls, juice and Mike's excellent coffee that he roasts onsite (Sailor's Choice Coffee). Mike enjoys sitting a spell and chatting with his guests during breakfast. We found him to be a fount of information as well as charming and engaging. Dittos for Mike's wife, Marilyn who is equally pleasant and helpful. They are both really nice people with fascinating life experiences. Best of all, Mike and Marilyn freely offer suggestions to help their guests choose and enjoy the many attractions Sitka has to offer to visitors.

The view from the breakfast/great room is marvelous. You may find it difficult to leave for your scheduled activities! While enjoying breakfast eyes are often trained on an eagle nest down the hill. Additionally, the great room is an inviting space with the wonderful view. Mike and Marilyn have filled the room with lovely art, including exquisite Native Alaskan art and artifacts.

A rental car is advised if staying at Raven's Peek.

Have a grand time when you visit this welcoming B&B and enjoy Alaskan hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whalegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethel, alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

On all counts, this place rates above excellent. The room was comfortable and roomy, the adjoining deck with jacuzzi, idyllic, and the TV room ... amazing. The view out onto the ocean was breathtaking. Last but not least, the food was delicious and beauitfully presented.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

This is a great place to stay for families or for coules. The view is so beautiful, it's so peacful to sit in the hot tub and look out at the ocean. The breakfast was great, and the owners where so helpful. Our 2 year olds loved the TV room, so much space, and there where no other guests. They have 2 rooms, one is the master, and the other has bunk beds. If you only have the master they do not rent out the room with the bunk beds. The bed was so comfortable. This was the only time we didn't long for our bed at home!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cammiesue90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

I don't tend to stay at B&Bs, but the choice to stay at Raven's Peek B&B was one of the best choices of our trip. It began with Mike and Marilyn picking us up from the airport. They gave us a quick tour of Sitka and then we went home. The couple is very hospitable.

The house is located on a hill overlooking the Sitka Sound and a small island home to an eagle's nest. We had a private entrance, so it was as though no one else lived in the house. There are two bedrooms, two baths (one half), a sauna, TV room, and jacuzzi that's all private. We booked the Master's Suite and no one stayed in the spare room, which was great because we could put our luggage there.

The breakfast is INCREDIBLE! Mike truly enjoys cooking and roasts in own coffee. A very healthy, tasty, and fresh breakfast.

At night the sky is vibrant. There are a few chairs outside where we sat and it was at though you were in space. Around 1am we saw a meteor shower and it was like unlike anything I've ever seen in my life. You could almost touch the meteors.

Overall, if you're going to Sitka, you MUST stay at Raven's Peek!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodeatsRville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

We rely on Trip Advisor for every aspect of travel planning so we were hesitant to book a stay at Ravens Peek because there were no TA reviews. We were VERY pleased that we took the chance and stayed at Ravens Peek with Mike and Marilyn who built their beautiful home a few years ago with the intention of having a B&B. The house is set back from the road and up a hill so it is extremely quiet and peaceful.

The guest side of the home is completely separate from the owners side and includes 2 bedrooms, 1½ bathrooms plus a comfortable den with big screen TV and refrigerator. If you book only one room (as we did) then no one else will be using the second bedroom or half bath. Our immaculately clean bedroom (Master’s Suite) with comfortable queen bed was in the front of the house and featured a sweeping view, separate entrance and private deck with spa. The second guest bedroom (Mate’s Quarters) is on the same side of the house at the rear so it doesn’t have a view.

Mike cooked and served the terrific breakfasts in the dining area of the great room which separates the guest rooms from the owner’s part of the house. Breakfasts included fresh fruit and generous servings of pancakes, waffles or various egg dishes (his specialty breakfast tart with eggs, cheese and bacon was delicious) . Both he and Marilyn are gracious hosts and treated us like friends.

The only slight drawback is that the home is a few miles outside of town and, although there is a public bus stop not far from the home, it is advisable to rent a car. You will probably want a car anyway especially to take advantage of the wonderful hiking trails around Sitka.

We arrived in Sitka by air and rented a car at the airport and departed by ferry. At the conclusion of our trip, Mike was happy to transfer us from the car rental at the airport to the ferry terminal which is close to the B&B.

We have stayed at many B&Bs around the world and are happy to recommend Ravens Peek as being in the top tier. Sitka is a beautiful town and we’re happy we spent four days there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderingways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
4.6 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
4.6 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
4.7 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven's Peek Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven's Peek Bed and Breakfast

Property: Raven's Peek Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4260 Halibut Point Rd, Sitka, AK 99835-9563
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sitka
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Raven's Peek Bed And Breakfast Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing