We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st Cruise Stop whale watching” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sitka Secrets - CLOSED

Sitka Secrets
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come with us to explore, marvel, and appreciate the wildlife that call the ocean home. We are former wildlife biologists dedicated to making your visit a memorable one. We share a perspective acquired through years of education, experience and a love for Alaska's wildlife.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“1st Cruise Stop whale watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wow end of of season and still whales it was a wet time but we knew that when we made to decision to take the cruise. What beautiful animals. Will go back when whales more plentiful and rain less likely to enjoy more. Celebrity Cruises helped make up for weather with outstanding service and food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
552 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“This private tour is the way to go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Loved our 3-hour tour with Kent. His boat is small (room for 6 maximum), but that just means you don't have to climb over other tourists to see the whales, otters, eagles, puffins, seals, etc.

This isn't a "fixed itinerary tour," but Kent finds out what you're most interested in and points the boat in that direction. The seas were choppy so Kent worked hard to get us to the right spots with as little discomfort as possible. He was very sensitive and accommodating to our comfort and safety.

Kent's background prepares him to answer almost any question you can ask. He's very happy to share any and all info, but doesn't lecture or ramble on. And he has a great sense of humor. Couldn't have been more perfect.

This sure beats doing the big-boat tours!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2TravelFarNWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best thing I did in Sitka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I went out on a 3 hour wildlife boat tour with Sitka Secrets and it was the highlight of my trip to Sitka. I had heard that Sitka Marine Wildlife Tours were the Top Thing to do in Sitka and this trip proved it! We saw humpback whales, tons of sea otters, Steller sea lions, bald eagles and made a stop at St. Lazaria Island where we saw puffins and an AMAZING landscape! The value was incredible as I paid nearly as much to go on a mellow kayak tour where we just saw a few things. Kent was very knowledgeable and I highly recommend a Sitka Marine Wildlife Tour while visiting this beautiful town!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pugetsoundwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathlamet, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Tour, Kent & Bev Really Cater to Your Specfic Interests!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sitka Secrets is the best guide service we have ever booked! They truly plan out your trip to fit your personal interests, and give you a close up experience you'll remember the rest of your life. We booked the tour for sea birds nesting at St. Lazaria. Kent has extensive knowledge about the birds that use the island, and on our way out he gave us lots of info about what to watch for. We saw many bird species and learned a lot about their nesting habits. The most interesting were Storm Petrels, Puffins, and Oystercatchers. On our way back he made sure we saw humpback whales and sea otters. Kent has a wealth of knowledge and leaves you with a deep appreciation for the wonderful place called Sitka, Alaska. We got far more than was promised on this tour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank VickiRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
216 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just got off Kent's boat and had a lovely 2 hour trip around the islands.
We saw sea otters, several whales, seal lions, harbour seals, bald eagles and searched for bears, but unfortunately didn't get to see one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MissT603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing