We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sitka's Secrets, charter to St Lazaria Island”
Review of Sitka Secrets - CLOSED

Sitka Secrets
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come with us to explore, marvel, and appreciate the wildlife that call the ocean home. We are former wildlife biologists dedicated to making your visit a memorable one. We share a perspective acquired through years of education, experience and a love for Alaska's wildlife.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just returned from a southeast Alaska vacation by the Alaska Marine Highway Ferry system. We had no excursions booked in Sitka, but we wanted to visit the St. Lazaria Wildlife Refuge for seabirds nearby. We found that Kent Hall runs a charter/water taxi service called Sitkaa's Secrets and takes people out to the island. He's a very nice fellow and well-educated about the island and the flora/fauna around it. His boat is well-equipped and comfortable and we spent a fair bit of time looking for (and finding lots) of whales and sea otters. He also took us to a spot where he knew an eagle was nesting.
The island itself is like something out of another world; it actually brought tears to my eyes! I highly recommend booking a trip out there with Kent of Sitka's Secrets.

1  Thank PhilG1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penguin555, Owner at Sitka Secrets, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thanks for coming aboard and giving us a reason for being on the water! It never gets old:)...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (25)
There are newer reviews for Sitka Secrets
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 25 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had the best time with Kent out on his boat. He found humpback whales, orcas, sea otters and eagles for us to view. Kent is a super knowledgable guy who happily answered all of our questions. We live in Hawaii and went to Alaska to see our beloved humpback whales and it was such a treat to see them outside the Sitka area. We loved that we were able to hire out the boat for just ourselves in order to track down some humpbacks, we did. We rate our experience as excellent. We left the boat smiling from ear-to-ear :-).

Thank genkigirlmaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Tthank you for a great trip around St. Lazaria Island, a highllight of our stay in Sitka. Kent was very knowledgable and low-keyed, the perfect captain. Whales came close-up feeding and there were rafts of sea ottters and tufted puffins to admire peacefully from a respectful distance. And the weather was sunny and calm, a perfect morning we will always remember. Alice and Steve

Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments! It's so nice when the weather and wildlife cooperate:)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was by far the best money we spent on our trip to Alaska. Great views of the wildlife and Kent is a great guide.

Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you for choosing us. We always try to do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I've heard lots of good feedback about Sitka Secrets and wanted to give them a try. I was not disappointed. Captain Kent was great and was very accommodating. I really wanted to see Horned Puffins and he was able to find us a couple. Overall, I was impressed with the value of the trip. The price was reasonable and Kent not only pointed out wildlife but told us a little bit about what we were seeing. Fantastic experience!

Thank Arman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Arman,
Thanks! That's a great pic of horned puffins! We see horned puffins only a handful of times every summer and it's always so special to find birds when we go bird watching!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing