We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Japanese”
Review of Little Tokyo

Little Tokyo
Ranked #16 of 41 Restaurants in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Delicious Japanese”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It's an ordinary looking place but there's a welcome inside, a lot on the menu and what we tried was excellent. Sushi, yummy gyoza, edamame, soba - we were lloking for a light lunch but this became a bit of a feast. Little Tokyo is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    12
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Southeast”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I loved the Alaskan Rolls, favorite, spicy tuna, Rainbow roll, Philadelphia Roll, and a Kirin beer or two.......

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sskrine02222014ALPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sushi and other food very good!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Last night I dined at Little Tokyo, we go there every few weeks for nice Japanese food. I reviewed other reviews, and saw that many were from sushi "experts" from large cities in the US. And, I found many of the reviews really annoying, the most annoying reviews commented on lack of fish in a fishing community. OK these are tourists who don't know that the wholesale and retail price of fish is high in Sitka, Alaska prices, so you won't get a slab of king salmon or halibut on your sushi. Check the price of fish before you write about fish prices.

Instead you get good sushi. This town has a long association with Japan. Um, your jet landed on Japonski Island. A large Japanese Corporation ran a HUGE business in this town for years. So, we aren't dopes about sushi.

The array of sushi options is huge, flavorful and interesting; the sushi is prepared beautifully (visually and taste-wise). The waitstaff is friendly and quick. Oh yes, comments about the waitstaff are also annoying; have any of you been to Asia???

OK, my only negatives, yes the chicken in the bento is a bit crispy, and I wish they had tempura veggies for dinner.

Otherwise this is a great place and a real asset to Sitka.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what I expected ...”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm a sushi aficionado, and expected much more from a sushi bar next to the sea. Except for the fresh salmon, the fish felt as if it had been long frozen - and even longer unfrozen before it hit my plate. Staff as inattentive and spent most of the time I was there bickering among themselves.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Catharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
314 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Disappointing Japanese meal - dry reheated chicken katsu”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We both had a family menu - a chicken katsu and beef teriyaki - the chicken was dry (I remember hearing a microwave click before being served so being heated in such a manner would account for its dryness. The Beef teriyaki while not as dry was not cooked to order - I felt both dishes tasted as if they were simply reheated. The salad leaves were fresh. The miso soup was so so (not as flavoursome as the ones I've eaten in Tokyo but a plus it wasn't too salty). The tempura shrimps were not in a light crisp batter - tasted more like a hot dog batter around the shrimps - not the typical light tempura batter for which the Japanese are renowned. The california rolls were passable but the sushi rice could have been more flavoursome. Pickled ginger to accompany would have been nice. I wouldn't want this be anyone's first introduction to Japanese food.

Prices reasonable but quality lacking. Most of the staff appear happy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotters4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Little Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing