We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you could wish for!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baranof Wilderness Lodge
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sitka
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Our week at Baranof Wilderness Lodge was a highlight of the year. Wonderful, knowledgeable staff. Individualized opportunities for a variety of activities. One day fishing (superb guides) the next seeing whales, eagles and bears. Great food! All in one of the most beautiful places in Southeast Alaska. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artisaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
9
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadena, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful adventure every day at the Baranof Wilderness Lodge. From the moment we get off the plane we were well taken care of by the staff at BWL. We had the chance to reel in different fish species, set shrimp pots, see all kinds of wildlife, hike to the warm springs and we even got to get a relaxing message. The cabins were nice, clean and had a picturesque view. Everyday, we were served delicious meals. At night, meals are served family style, It was wonderful to hear the others share their day experiences.We could plan out our next days adventure and have all our Alaskan dreams come true with the help of Mike and Sally Trotter and their amazing staff.

Room Tip: All the rooms are close to lodge for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcsenjoying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

My son and I were fortunate to be able to attend the Kelp Bay Base Camp in August of 2012. Nothing but the finest of memories were taken from that Summer.

BWL has the Greatest crew, takes the utmost care in your safety and comfort, and provides you with the most unforgettable experiences.

The natural Spruce Shelter that canopies the camp is unbelievable. The fishing, gear and company is really 2nd to none. The FOOD, well Dutch has a skill that he developed over years and years to prepare some of the freshest seafood, sides and appetizers that would envy anyone on the planet. He is fantastic with the Fly Rod and is extremely organized at the camp. Dutch really makes you feel like your living.

The excursions were mind blowing. Monday through Saturday we were geared up and in the boat by 800am. The river systems are an intense experience. Bears, swift water and large Dolly's every second of the day - every day. Charlie, our guide, has superb patience and is skilled in the ways of Kelp Bay. That guy can do anything and ensures that every guest is involved every step of the way.

This place, these people and everything that comes along with it, are one of the greatest treasures for outdoor recreation that can be had in Alaska. It was for me and my son. That is really saying a lot since I was born and raised in Southeast Alaska and lived there 35 years.

Thank you Mike, Sally, Dutch and Charlie. To many more adventures. I would rather spend my nights on the point with a glass of red and cedar sparks than anywhere in the world.

Best Fishes - Dean

Room Tip: The Camp closest to the "Growler" may be beneficial to some!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife and I spent half the time in base camp in Kelp Bay and the rest at the Baranof Wilderness Lodge with hosts Mike and Sally Trotter. Each day in camp revealed breathtaking scenery, incredible culninary treats, and comraderie with the staff that was second to none. The quiet and peaceful setting was often puntuated by a rush of excitement while landing one of the plentiful halibut or salmon during the days. Nights were best described as "family gatherings" with stories from Mike about the geologic history or description of the fisheries we visited. Ive now shared a trip with my wife, brother, and the rest of my family and friends cannot wait for an opportunity to visit the Lodge and enjoy their own trip of a lifetime with the BWL team. Im ready to go now!
Tammy's comment was she wanted to cry when we left because it was the most peaceful and beautiful places she has been in her lfe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElkoAlTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Baranof Wilderness Lodge and the Baranof Wilderness Base Camp are my two favorite places on planet earth! We first vacationed at Baranof with our family in 2004, returned with our family in 2005, and since then, we have been there 4 other times with friends! The natural beauty and fishing are there for you to discover, but it is Sally and Mike Trotter and the staff who make the Alaskan experience so enjoyable. The Lodge is warm, cozy and comfortable, and the food at the Lodge and Base Camp is excellent - five star. You will not be able to leave without a Lodge cookbook in hand! The fishing guides are extremely professional, yet very patient with kids and amateurs like me! It is about the fishing, yet it is about so much more than that. I would describe it as a mountain top experience at sea level! It is a trip of a lifetime, but I can promise you this - once is not enough!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Over the last 15 years, I and several of my friends have been helping out with construction, vacationing and/or closing out the Baranof Wilderness Lodge each season. Each of us feel this Alaska experience has been one of the most rewarding events in our life time and look forward to returning each year to help out Mike and Sally, as well as the rest of the crew. During the close out period, we ususally work one day, then play (fish, hike, explore, whale-bear watch, soak in the near by hot springs, and/or just relax on the lodge deck and watch bay senery from one of the most spectacular spots of this earth. Mike and Sally have one of the best staff personal team I have ever had the pleasure to associate with, and when it come to food, you can not believe what the lodge Chief and crew will present, it has been "Out of this World"! What I realy enjoy with Mike, Sally and the entire crew is the relaxed environment they present and numerous opportunities of daily events on a "Fun Board" that you can chose from. Thanks you Mike and Sally for all of you hospitally and looking forward to my next trip, as well as bring up the rest of my family, friends and co-workers so they can experience this once in a life time experience!

Room Tip: All cabins are excellent, but I like the cabin next to the creek or the one next to the Bald Eagle h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Until we experienced Mike and Sally Trotters' Baranof Wilderness Lodge...we thought the photos were awsome but then truly felt the ocean's lure and wild exhileration from our adventures each and every day of our five days at the Lodge. Fishing, kayaking, hiking, whale-watching and nature at its finest will forever remain a call for us to return again and again. We absolutely were able to connect with the sounds of silence. We will forever be grateful !

Room Tip: Enjoy your morning coffee and tea with views on your porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
19.0 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
19.2 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
19.2 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
18.0 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baranof Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baranof Wilderness Lodge

Property: Baranof Wilderness Lodge
Address: P.O. Box 2187, Sitka, AK 99835-2187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Sitka
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an all inclusive Wilderness lodge nested 20 air miles remote of Sitka Alaska accessible only by boat or float plane. Uniquely situated in a rugged realm of cascading waterfalls, sparkling alpine lakes, snow capped peaks and lush ancient forest. Come explore, adventure or fish our countless protected bays, inlets, and streams teeming with both fresh and saltwater fish and wildlife. Here you will find superior accommodations of our comfortable & spacious guest cabins and Main Lodge. Elegantly furnished pine-paneled cabins feature hot showers, baseboard heaters, private bathroom, and 24 hour electricity from our own hydropower plant. From the peaceful comfort of your cabin you will enjoy panoramic views of the bay and its marine life in the shadow of majestic mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baranof Wilderness Lodge Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing