We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous time!”
Review of AAA Captain Black Bart Charters - CLOSED

AAA Captain Black Bart Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capt. Black Bart Charters is a Sitka Alaska Wildlife Tour. Offered are two or three hour tours watching whales, sea lions, sea otters, eagles bears, puffins and so much more. Most bookings are arranged and confirmed over the phone by calling 907-747-7416 or cell at 907-738-6542. The boat is very clean, safe and fast with a fully covered back deck. Everyone gets a pair of binoculars to use aboard and free beverages. Capt Mitchell is fun, salty and full of knowledge and anecdotes. Welcome aboard.
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous time!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We felt really lucky to have been able to book this trip with Mitch. My husband and I took our 4 kids on this excursion in Sitka, rather than do one with the cruise line we had traveled on. It is much better for us to be in a small group than with 100 other people. We could stop and look at things with Mitch as our tour guide. We saw lots of whales and he would stop and change directions to try to get a good look for the kids. He had binoculars ready to hand out when we left and was very familiar with the waters, having lived and boated there for years. We also got to see sea otters and lots of birds. His boat is very fast and we traveled about 12 miles out of Sitka and had great views. Loved being out there on the water! Really glad we chose this tour with Mitch!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dizplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Worth the price, seen Alaska in a whole new way after this tour, I could not believe how amazing it was, the things you see are incredible! MUST DO

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Freaktotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Made our trip to Alaska”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a must do! Mitch is friendly, warm, accommodating , knowledgeable , funny, just a great person to spend the day with. While on a cruise, the trip we wanted to do with the ship was sold out, did some searching and found AAA Captain Black Bart Charters, this was the best tour we did while on the trip, in fact he made our trip to Alaska. Before heading out he asked what we wanted to see, and went out of his way to make sure we saw it. He has lived in Sitka since the late 70's so it was great getting some history. We saw whales, eagles, otter float, seals, birds. Do yourself a favor and booked this trip, you will have a fantastic day, Captain Black will make sure of that.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LorRae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tour for the price!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a fabulous tour! Captain Mitch was the best! He was so friendly and informative - funny too! We were able to see whales, sea otters, seals and eagles. We also went on the search for bears but since they were just coming out of hibernation, they were a bit allusive at this time! The boat is very fast and can cover a lot of ground in a short time. There were only 6 people on the tour and the boat has a lot of space to move around for photos. Drinks and binoculars are even provided!

I loved this tour and Captain Mitch. He was so accommodating and helpful to fit us in on short notice. Thanks to Carnival our itinerary had changed so I made my own arrangements - not through the cruise people. I'm so glad we actually went to Sitka instead of Skagway so that we had the chance to go on this tour and meat this wonderful person! This was one of the highlights of our tour. My great friend was celebrating her 60th birthday - she could not stop talking about this day! Thank you Captain and all of our other tour mates! Keep up the great work and keep smiling!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the money for a 2 hour tour”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a great tour. Saw lots of wildlife including whales, eagles and sea otters - so cute! Plenty of room on boat for taking photo's - not like the Cruise tours where everyone is packed tight!

If we ever get to Sitka again we will definitely go on this tour one more time. Captain Black can not, of course, control what wildlife you will or will not see, but he sure has the experience to know what areas are best to visit!

I did ask him about the one really negative review I saw on Trip Adviser and his comment was that it turned out the review was about a different boat tour - not his - but that he was unable to get the review removed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank carolH6929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AAA Captain Black Bart Charters also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing