We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Viable option in Sitka” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sitka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 19 Sitka B&B and Inns
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
142 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Viable option in Sitka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed for two nights at this property. It’s very low key and when we arrived, we had to pick up the key to the room from the restaurant (which was quite busy for a Wed. night!) The room was spacious and the bed comfortable. We faced the water and although the view was pretty, the location was quite noisy with floatplane and dock noise. Although I’m a private pilot and love anything aviation oriented, it was unpleasant to hear a plane start up at 4:30am so the pilot could dock it for repairs – literally right outside our window! Also, the room had no fan setting and became quite stuffy – opening the windows was not an option with the rain. Lastly, no black out curtains so the room didn’t get very dark at all. We only had breakfast one of the two mornings (had an early flight out the second morning) and it was quite good. Breakfast is included in the room rate.

Overall our stay was comfortable … perhaps a different room location would have made it great. We loved the quaint town of Sitka – everything is pretty much in walking distance. Highly suggest a visit to the Raptor Center and a meal at Ludvig’s.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandnsun61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
22
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

From the time we pulled in, until the time we left, we couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were spacious and EXTREMELY CLEAN!. It seemed like we were the first people to have stayed in that room! There wasn't even a single water spot on any of the fixtures!
It had the bed and breakfast atmosphere without feeling crowded. The food was wonderful and the innkeepers were so accommodating and genuinely glad we were there. They could have charged twice the nightly rate and it would still have been a great deal and well worth it!! It was the Fly in Fish Inn that made us decide to return to Sitka for another visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: Every room had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellokittymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed here about half a dozen times on business trips and it is exceptional and just keeps getting better.

The rooms are extraordinarily clean and comfortable. It is quiet and the view over the harbor is beautiful.

In the summer the price of the room includes a huge breakfast that could possibly save you the cost of lunch.

There is a bar/restaurant that serves casual food that is well prepared and the drink prices are very reasonable to the point of being underpriced. The small bar has a nice mix of touristsand locals.

The best reason to stay here is the staff which is incredibly friendly. After about my third stay I was treated like a combination of royalty AND family.

This is a don't miss place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john99801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Calif
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

This was my second trip to Sitka and I was pleasantly surprised at the "FLY IN FISH INN",
It's a few blocks from town filled and the streets are cluttered with old crappy dilapidated homes, in this tribal area. The Inn sits right on the water between fish processing plants. Although it's on the bay the views could be a little more pleasing, given that 95% of Sitka is beautiful. The whole area just needs to be cleaned up, Not really the Inn's problem but it does affect the surroundings.

But the Inn itself is run by family, which are great people. The on-site bar after 4 pm is very convenient. They serve breakfast (free for guest) after 6:30 am which is hands down the best breakfast your going to get on the whole island, guaranteed. The rooms are very clean even though they only have house keeping every 3 days. The laundry room onsite was awesome, while we waited for our 2 pm plane departure we did our weeks laundry before going home. That was a real treat when we got home. The beds are very comfortable, the pillows could be a little softer. The TV's are outdated but they have cable. Doesn't sound important but there's not a lot to do after dark.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan2429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

We traveled to Sitka with 7 people, ages 9 to 50. While it poured the entire time we stayed in Sitka, we loved it! We were able to sightsee, hike wonderful hikes, go to museums etc. It was great when we got back to the Fly-In Fish Inn because the rooms were extremely clean, we had use of a washing machine (muddy hikers), the rooms were spacious, we had a place to cook etc etc. We looked forward to breakfast everyday as the food was amazing. Even in the evenings, the adults could go down to the lounge and have a drink on the waterfront without going far from the pre-teens and teenagers. I would recommend it to everyone. It was peaceful and clean and you couldn't beat the location. The staff were great too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBozemanBozeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

My husband and I, and another couple, just returned from a week in Sitka, Alaska. We booked a fishing trip through Alaska Reel Affair Charters and this inn was where we stayed. What a great find! The inn has only 10 rooms so it has a much more intimate feel than a hotel. It also has a bar that serves as a breakfast room in the mornings. It is owned and run by a family and, by the time we left, we almost felt like family, too. We loved it!!! The rooms are immaculate and are nicely furnished with surprising amenities. It is a little treasure and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

This great little place is tucked away on Katlian St. in an area you wouldn't expect to find such a charming place. It's family-owned, and they were very hospitable and friendly. Our room was immaculate, complete with complimentary wifi and an assortment of popcorn, tea, coffee, and hot chocolate. The decor was nature-themed and very delightful. About a five minute walk to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alohomora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sitka hotels
0.3 mi away
Totem Square Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Westmark Sitka Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sitka Hotel
Sitka Hotel
#6 of 8 in Sitka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Sitka
Super 8 Sitka
#1 of 8 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
Sitka's Eagle Bay Inn
#1 of 19 in Sitka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cascade Creek Inn & Charters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant
Address: 485 Katlian St, Sitka, AK 99835-7506
Location: United States > Alaska > Sitka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Sitka
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly built 10 room inn on the waterfront. Two blocks from downtown. Spacious rooms with private baths, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee pots, hair dryers. Dining room with full service bar. Covered outside deck, laundry facilities, wireless internet. Non-smoking and no pets please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Fly In Fish Inn & Restaurant Sitka, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing