We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing

Our whale watching tour was perfect! I highly recommended 10/10. They were so nice and very... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed September 6, 2019
KatieGoeck
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
A Morning with Capt. Brian on the Quiet Mon

GREAT EXPERIENCE! Capt. Brian's rules; #1, Don't fall overboard. #2, No stress. We left at 0800, 4... read more

Reviewed August 23, 2019
BVBear8040
,
Leadville, Colorado
Read all 110 reviews
  
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
101
5
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
101
5
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain brian wildlife tour sitka sound humpback whales quiet mon wide variety of wildlife stellar sea lions local wildlife bird species private tour hour tour excellent boat whale watching great guide memorable trip small boat marine life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 110 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2019

GREAT EXPERIENCE! Capt. Brian's rules; #1, Don't fall overboard. #2, No stress. We left at 0800, 4 of 6 guests on board. Rainy with the remnants of a storm still pestering Sitka. Capt. Brian met us on the dock an explained that we would be staying inside the Sound due to 10-13' ( 3-4 m) seas. No argument from our party. VERY knowledgeable re: the local environment. We saw Stellar sea lions, porpoise, many bird species incl bald eagles An intimate trip. Want to see the Sitka Sound from a locals perspective?book with Sitka Sound Tours

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank BVBear8040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Glad you remembered the rules and stuck to them! So happy a "little Alaskan summer storm" didn't hamper your wildlife tour! Those harbor porpoise were very cool to watch in the lively seas. Captain Brian truly enjoys sharing his local knowledge about Sitka and the wildlife with visitors. The small intimate setting provides a very personal, hands-on experience that you won't get on a large boat with a 100 other passengers. If you ever return to Sitka, please contact us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

I highly recommend this trip. Captain Brian was great and we saw lots of whales and seals. The scenery was breathtaking and it was far better being in a small boat than one of the larger more commercial ones. Captain Brian has so much knowledge and a big thanks too to his wife Heather who always responded very quickly to my email questions. A great time and really enjoyed this.

Date of experience: August 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Thanks for you awesome review! So happy you were able to see whales and seals! Seals are usually elusive, so a sighting is always fun! We try to be very responsive, as we know travel plans may be last minute or may suddenly change. So glad you enjoyed your wildlife tour with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

Capt Brian knew we would like to see whales and so advised us when we arrived that due to the fog and mist it would be hard to see whale spouts and thus might not see a whale. He left the decision up to us whether or not to go out, saying we customers work hard for our money and he didn't want us to feel cheated if we didn't see a whale. We decided to go, and the haze soon lifted. Though he had room for 6, my wife and I were the only 2 who booked and he went out with just us. Therefore, it was super personal. He took us to 'secret' coves that others don't go to, where we saw eagles, and learned from him about the size of and encounters he had with bears, about the special medicinal benefits of the 'moss' on old growth trees. He told us about a Russian shipwreck from days when the Russians controlled Sitka, and told us information about the fish and the sea birds. In the end we did see a whale 3 different times, though from a distance. We also saw sea otters, salmon jumping out of the water, and unique sea birds, and stellar sea lions. We just plan enjoyed the boat trip with an excellent sea captain!

Date of experience: August 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank pankratz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Thanks for you wonderful review. You definitely absorbed many details from your tour, which makes us super happy! Good thing you decided fog and mist wouldn't dampen your day, as we were able to see just about everything, including whales! In particular whales are difficult to spot when it is foggy and misty, so you really lucked out. Glad you enjoyed the educational experience along with the wildlife sightings! If you ever return to beautiful Sitka by the sea, please look us up again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2019

Captain Brian did a fine job showing us special places in Sitka Sound for wildlife by boat-- we say deer, humpback whales, sea otters, bald eagles, marbled murrelets , and more. Brian is a great guide, informative and patient. And we got the extra benefit of having Heather his biologist wife out with us. Great morning tour!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank lily p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2019

Thanks for your review! Happy to hear your enjoyed your wildlife tour! Those rafts of sea otters were sure cute, and made great pictures. The deer in the bay were a pleasant surprise. That whale was a little shy, but so glad you both saw it. Look us up again next time you come back to Sitka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

We had an amazing tour. Brian was informative, and always stopped so we could see the wildlife. We would highly recommended the tour.

Date of experience: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Maps09066259588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Thank you for you nice review and recommendation. Glad we were able to show you what Sitka Sound has to offer! Captain Brian enjoys sharing his local knowledge and showing off beautiful Sitka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews