We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Sitka
Post
Inbox
Search
Review Highlights
Amazing

Our whale watching tour was perfect! I highly recommended 10/10. They were so nice and very... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed September 6, 2019
KatieGoeck
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
Captain Brian clearly loves what he does

That makes for a really special tour. He has a wealth of knowledge to share about pretty much... read more

Reviewed August 25, 2019
Erika E
Read all 110 reviews
  
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
101
5
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
101
5
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain brian wildlife tour sitka sound humpback whales quiet mon wide variety of wildlife stellar sea lions local wildlife bird species private tour hour tour excellent boat whale watching great guide memorable trip small boat marine life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2019

We had an amazing tour. Brian was informative, and always stopped so we could see the wildlife. We would highly recommended the tour.

Date of experience: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Maps09066259588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2019

Thank you for you nice review and recommendation. Glad we were able to show you what Sitka Sound has to offer! Captain Brian enjoys sharing his local knowledge and showing off beautiful Sitka!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

Brian was such a laid-back, relaxed captain, getting as excited about rhino auklets as about the stellar sea lions. It was so refreshing to pass by the great big vessels with their dozen or more seats, and tool on by in our little boat of a captain and four passengers. We so appreciated getting out to the spot with nothing but water, shoreline, and old-growth forest. We also got out on the open waters, and saw marbled murrelets, sea otters, and bunches of porpoises. It's amazing that the wildlife is so plentiful there that you can just order up an experience at will. It's even more amazing to feel like we're sharing this experience together, with an almost non-existent sense of exploitation. We are humans, and we are going out entirely uninvited into their home to see these creatures - but this made it feel so respectful, calm and non-invasive. I couldn't recommend this experience more highly!!

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank LT_Giggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you so much for your insightful and detailed review. Captain Brian had a great time with you. Those porpoises were an amazing experience for sure! Please call us again if you come back to Sitka, so we can show you more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Captain Brian went out of his way to accommodate our group in showing us as much local wildlife as possible. He is knowledgeable and very kind - helping with a wheelchair and for us to safely board the boat. Def recommend!

Date of experience: May 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank GinaC55514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Thank you for your kind review. Captain Brian had a great time showing your group around Sitka Sound. Thrilled we could accommodate you! Call us if you visit Sitka again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed a 2.5-3 hour tour with Captain Brian last Sept. He knew where to find whales, seals, sea lions, sea otters and a variety of sea birds to watch and take great pictures. He easily shares his knowledge about the marine environment, wildlife and history of the region. His boat is very shipshape and stable with a variety of places to sit for viewing.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank henrysm2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed experiencing amazing wildlife! Happy to hear you got some good pictures too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

Captain Brian is so knowledgeable about the area that he gave us a great trip without putting us into scads of other travelers. Quiet mountain bays to sea otters and whales we saw it all on a gorgeous calm water day. Thanks!!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank DougComstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SitkaSoundTours, Owner at Sitka Sound Tours, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2019

That sure was a beautiful day in Sitka Sound! Thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews