We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful view”

Shiloh National Cemetery
Ranked #2 of 3 things to do in Shiloh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cemetery honoring those who died in the Civil War battle between Union general Ulysses S. Grant and Confederate general A.S. Johnson.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful view”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The cemetary is right next to the visitor center and bookstore. The monuments are well preserved. The cemetary is well kept. When you walk to the back of the cemetary there is a beautiful view of the Tennessee River and Pittsburg Landing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    24
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Tennessee
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to learn about our national history.”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Opportunity to learn about our nations history are endless. I have been going here since we were in school and took field trips. You get a good perspective of how much our freedoms costs other Americans and how had we have fought for the freedoms that we enjoy.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TNTechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesbit
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really nice!”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time driving through this Military park. It has so much history. It was clean and well kept. There are a lot of places where you can get out and take walks on trails. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank brewers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Make sure you take time”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

To go through this cemetery and the one by Shiloh Church. Walk around and look at the dates of the burials and check out Govenor Blanton's monument.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mamreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevallo, Alabama
Level Contributor
125 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Puts it all in perspective”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Seeing the rows and rows of tombstones really puts the costs of the Civil War into perspective. All the graves at the cemetery are union troops. The union and confederate dead were originally buried in mass graves, and the union troops were reburied in the cemetery after the war ended. There are several confederate mass grave sites around the park. The cemetery is located just across from the visitor's center.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank autigerrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shiloh National Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing