We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay In Luray, Va.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Merced
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay In Luray, Va.”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We found this place at Bed and Breakfast.com, an it is very nice. Our host, Donna, is fantastic she made our stay very comfortable, and wow what a breakfast! We are traveling the country from California and have stayed at a few bed and breakfast along the way, Donna made us feel like she really enjoyed or company, enjoyed fixing a great meal for us, she enjoined our conversations at the breakfast table with the other guest. We used a very relaxing jacuzzi on the deck. If you stop at Luray Caverns, I really recommend that you stay at Woodruff House Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrye29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Wonderful hostess. Do not choose "Dorothy's Loft" as your room, unless you don't mind walking downstairs and thru the kitchen to use the shower. And, you can only see the TV from the bed. And, dresser drawers do not open. And, faux fireplace door fell off when opened. Perhaps a different room would make it a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackbrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
344 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Donna, our host could not have been a better host for our one night stay. She is the ultimate description of "Southern Charm". The room descriptions on the website cannot be improved by me and were very accurate. Our room was neat and clean. We were the only two couples in the house, and Donna or her husband were available by phone at any time. Breakfast was wonderful and conversation with Donna was very interesting. Our hot tub preference is on the hot side and we were free to put the setting where we wished. I recommend this B&B to anyone looking for this kind of accomodation in Luray.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aluckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed over here for 2 nights as wife and I explored the area and visited Luray cavern. The b&b has everything; it is close to shops, has great rooms and the owners were amazing! Donna was just the nicest person ever and the food was
Fantastic!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveman1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the Woodruff Inn for one night on a weekend trip to Luray Caverns and it was just lovely. The Inn owner Donna is just super; as soon as we walked in she treated us like we were old friends, showed us around the delightful property and gave us tons of information about the town and great advice on where to dine etc. She welcomed us so warmly it felt like being at home. We opted to stay in the roof top suite and it was definitely one of my best ideas. I have secretly always wanted a room like it! It spans the length of the entire house in the attic, has a separate "bedroom", Jacuzzi tub in the room, a sitting area and an actual outhouse for the bathroom! Just perfect! Donna is also a fabulous cook and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful to keep us full till the late afternoon. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooftop room was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nida s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We greatly enjoyed Donna's fabulous hospitality in this cozy and well-appointed inn. The common areas and our suite incorporated an impressive array of amenities, and the warm welcome and tour we received showed us immediately that we'd chosen a great place. Unlike many B&B's, Woodruff House goes out of its way to encourage the guests to enjoy the common areas and not feel trapped in the room. We enjoyed hanging out in the afternoon having tea in the living and dining rooms, sitting the gazebo at night and using the big hot tub on the deck. Also, Donna's recommendations for local area restaurants and places to hike off Skyline Drive were all very good.

The only constructive criticism we can offer is that the bed in our room was extremely loud and creaky, and the wall a/c unit was somewhat loud, which would cause us to wake up at night sometimes when rolling over. Otherwise we love the inn and intend to return, and greatly enjoyed meeting Donna and John. We stayed for three nights and greatly enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCskippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A wonderful find in Luray, VA. If you are visiting the Caverns (which is a must) this B&B offers a comfortable room, clean and adorable with a fantastic breakfast cooked to order by the owners, Donna and her husband! The rooms are unique, offering a fireplace and jacuzzi tub in each - very romantic. Great for young couples or seniors, such as ourselves. Convenient to everything with a great Italian restaurant within walking distance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
963 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 330 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1808
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodruff House is a beautiful French Victorian Inn located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. We offer a quiet getaway with romantic Jacuzzi rooms, warm hospitality, bountiful homemade breakfasts, and several special packages to make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing