We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodruff House B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woodruff House B&B”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A wonderful find in Luray, VA. If you are visiting the Caverns (which is a must) this B&B offers a comfortable room, clean and adorable with a fantastic breakfast cooked to order by the owners, Donna and her husband! The rooms are unique, offering a fireplace and jacuzzi tub in each - very romantic. Great for young couples or seniors, such as ourselves. Convenient to everything with a great Italian restaurant within walking distance!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
61
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Had a great time staying at this B&B. We stayed in the Rooftop Suite and it is beautiful! The price is also pretty unbeatable. All rooms have a jacuzzi (and nice bath salts to go with it!) and there is also an outdoor jacuzzi. We stayed there after a day of hiking in the Shenandoah and really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. Donna, our host, also gave us really good recommendations (for a place to swim and to eat) and baked cookies upon our arrival (the house had a delicious smell to it, thanks to all her cooking!). The breakfast was huge and very diverse.
I will definitely return there for a romantic weekend getaway!

Room Tip: The Rooftop Suite is a little more expensive but bigger and with a ton of charm! The other rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sn0wli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We chose the Woodruff House because it was convenient to a wedding; it was also our anniversary so we booked an extra night. The Rooftop Suite looked pretty cool online and was perfect. Roomy, private and a little funky (in a good way). We peeked into the other rooms before the guests arrived; all beautiful and all w/jacuzzis. Room rates were very reasonable, at least to folks from New Jersey. Breakfast was awesome - Innkeeper Donna was great and fixed us something different each day - and there was no need to have lunch. Special requests (egg whites for me) were no problem. The inn is extremely clean, well-maintained and within walking distance of the quaint town of Luray. It only has four rooms, but ample common areas, including a large garden w/small hot tub. Close to Luray Caverns, wineries, Shenandoah National Park.

Room Tip: If you're a little claustrophobic you might not enjoy our attic room. Unlike the brighter rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen07090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We just returned from our stay in Luray. The caverns are awesome. I like to be pampered when I'm on vacation. And that's just what we experienced during our stay at the Woodruff House. As you will read in the other reviews, Donna goes well above and beyond the expected for her guests. The breakfasts she prepared with love was yummy and the friendly chats made us feel like family. We highly recommend the Woodruff house when in Luray

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Donna was a great hostess! We booked the 'Day in Luray,' which she discounted because the zoo was closed, and allowed us to add a night at a discounted rate. The package includes a dinner downtown, admission to the caverns, page county museum, car/carriage museum (the latter is not to be missed!) Smooth sailing from booking through departure. Walking distance to downtown as well as the caverns (would have walked to caverns if the weather were nicer - it was February). Beautiful view from our room (Johnson). Enjoyed exploring the first floor rooms - felt right at home. Donna's food cannot be beat and was served whenever we liked! Experiencing two breakfasts there was lots of variety. Completely relaxing weekend, saw the sights, great price!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Em L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just wanted to let you all know what a wonderful Valentines Weekend we enjoyed at Woodruff House. We had such a great time and enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere! We stayed in "Dorothy's Loft" and was perfect for us with the King Sized Sleigh Bed. Donna, the owner was a hoot and enjoyed hearing about the town, activities, shopping, dining and of course the history of the house. What in the world can I say about Donna's Breakfasts other than "You will NOT leave hungry afterwards" Old Fashioned Breakfasts, Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, Pancakes, etc. The Hospitality and Atmosphere All Outstanding and We Will Definately Be Returning time and time again!! Thank You So Much!!

Room Tip: Dorothy's Loft, convenient to outside Hot Tub!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Under new ownership from past bad reviews. Really nice people. Very attentive and the rooms are really nice. The hot tub was great! They make you breakfast at whatever time you like. Also they're
Less than 5 miles from the caverns and a k4 minute walk from mail street!

Room Tip: The measure room was really awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 330 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1808
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodruff House is a beautiful French Victorian Inn located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. We offer a quiet getaway with romantic Jacuzzi rooms, warm hospitality, bountiful homemade breakfasts, and several special packages to make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing