We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICE GET A WAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NICE GET A WAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I did not know where we were going when we got into the car. We just started driving and ended up in the little town of Luray. We found the Woodruff House bed and breakfast and what a find it was. The young lady, Donna, was so nice and welcomed us in her house with open arms. The house was charming and the room we had, Rooftop was amazing. she let us see the rest of the rooms before other guest arrived and they were as lovely and the ours. She had town information ready and let us know about the activities in town including the free concert down town. That was real nice and all the people in luray seem to be friendly. We asked several people where we should eat and most of them quickly told us about the Victorian Inn Restaruant. We went there for dinner and it was amazing. Hard to beleive you can find that kind of food in such a small town. Fine dinning, but casual atmospher. Our trip was AMAZING. Nice get a way from the busy life that we live. We well def be back again.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer as they don't have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fun4all31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

The Woodruff House is beautiful place, my kids and wife had a wonderful time there. I would like to give credit to Donna, if it wasn’t for her the trip wouldn’t be as great as it was. Thanks Donna will see you soon! Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin123444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

My daughter and I were stuck in the Shenandoahs at midnight with no place to stay on Easter weekend. I found the Woodruff on line. Donna had two rooms left. She offered to discount the cheaper one to fit our budget but there was only one bed in that room. When we got there, we realized she had changed the rooms and given us the more expensive suite for the same price. It was hands down the most beautiful room I have ever slept in. It was a suite in the attic of an old Victorian home, with exposed rustic wood, slanted ceilings, and turreted rooms. The master queen bed was amazing and the second day bed was perfect for the two of us! The next morning, the breakfast was way over the top - fruit, pancakes, bacon, eggs to order, and crispy hash browns! Also very friendly company. Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rucks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I had an amazing time staying at the Woodruff House. It's a beautiful historic home and it is run by a wonderful couple, Jon and Donna Mitchell. The new management has taken great care to make their guests' stay a romantic visit. My room was spacious, clean, and homey. And the value for my stay was great compared to other B&Bs I looked at. Also, it's located in the beautiful town of Luray in the Shenandoah Mountains. I'm so glad I stayed there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyguest96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jabbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

We stayed with a very young baby. The rooms and bath room were very clean and very cosy and typical. Donna, the lady who welcomed and served us, prepared us a wonderful breakfast. If you plan to visit the Luray Caverns, combine it with a stay in this friendly house!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joseve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

It was the most pleasant experience I've had in a very long time. The staff was quick to make my reservation and accommodate me. The suite I stayed in was spotless and welcoming and had a marvelous jacuzzi tub, I simply could not ask for more. It was great to be so near to downtown Luray . Summed up in two words it was the "perfect escape". Planning on visiting very soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N0rman_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

What a wonderful place and perfect get-a-way!! I came in for a vacation and thats exactly what I got! Breakfast was to "die for", the perfect "down to earth, country breakfast"! The rooms were beautiful! The Mitchells, Donna and Jon, provided great hospitality, and are great people. Thanks again for a wonderful stay at you Bed and Breakfast, and we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsLenardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
14.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 330 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodruff House is a beautiful French Victorian Inn located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. We offer a quiet getaway with romantic Jacuzzi rooms, warm hospitality, bountiful homemade breakfasts, and several special packages to make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing