We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peabody's pure perfection”
other travelers have booked this property
Soak in a warm tub and dry off with your soft towels (provided) after an awesome day at the Hip Stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Soak in a warm tub and dry off with your soft towels (provided) after an awesome day at the Hip Stay
Downtown Luray for Spring Fest!  Every May! It's a GREAT day... come see! Love to ski?  Hit those mountains at Massanutten... just a cool 23 miles away!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Soak in a warm tub and dry off with your soft towels (provided) after an awesome day at the Hip Stay
Downtown Luray for Spring Fest!  Every May! It's a GREAT day... come see!
Love to ski?  Hit those mountains at Massanutten... just a cool 23 miles away!
These guests just finished their 'Peabody's Destination Picnic' at Birdsong Pleasure Garden - Smiles
Whether a table for a blanket you will love our 'Destination Picnics' complete with tour of Birdsong
Choose from our variety of Peabody's only relaxation packages!
Lots of love goes into our wonderful goodies!
Sit back or swim on the Shenandoah.
We like drawing lines in the sand (try Lake Arrowhead), the furniture and the sidewalk... some see!
We love you and the environment - two years straight award winning!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lynda M
1 review
“Peabody's pure perfection”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Needed a place to stay for a wedding in Luray Virginia . Found peabody's online with many 5 star reviews - it did not disappoint ! The rooms are spacious comfortable and beautifully decorated ! Judy , her mom Dorthy and dog Helen were very gracious- you feel welcome the moment you book -and the moment you arrive you feel like you are in the home of a friend ! Judy's breakfast and treats are amazingly dellious! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, relaxing place to stay you look no further Judy goes above and beyond to make your stay memorable ! I will be back !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Lynda & Andrew, it was wonderful to host the two of you and to receive such a complimentary review. The oasis was warmed by your presence and we truly hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Hugs to you both & thank YOU so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M
1 review
“Intimate and special”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at the Hip Little Place for our 30th Anniversary. Judy was a wonderful host, the food was amazing and the place so intimate and special. We had the place to ourselves (2 rooms- beautiful), sat outside under the moonlight in the hot tub and started the fire and fixed smores (provided by Judy!!! Nice touch!). We couldn't have chosen a more special place to celebrate. It also was close to attractions that we day tripped to and close enough to town to walk.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2017
Kim and Mark! How wonderful to see this review and to be reminded of your wonderful presence. Thank you so much for being my and little Miss Helen's guests for your special celebratory weekend. You were a treasure to have and I am touched to know you enjoyed your stay here with us. Please visit us again in the future! We would love to have you - you were wonderful! Thank You!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FitToBeTr...
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We're frequent travelers, and this little b+b ranks up there with our most pleasant retreats. While not fancy or over-the-top luxurious, Judy creates a comforting, very clean, and welcoming environment for her guests. She's very warm and friendly but only as chatty as you want to be, and seems perfectly suited to her job as a B+B host. Much appreciated touches were yummy breakfasts, delicious homemade cookies, a fire pit (complete with complementary s'mores fixings) and a hot tub. The outdoor space in the back yard is perfectly fine, and will undoubtedly become lovely as recent plantings mature and more are added. The guest suite on the top floor is very private, comfortable, and spacious. The B+B is well-located in the little town of Luray, close to the caverns, a few decent restaurants, a pretty creekside greenway, and Shenandoah National Park, and Judy is very helpful with suggestions about nearby attractions and restaurants. A really great experience--- we hope to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: owner was wonderful
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Laurel, Howard & Lucas! Thank you SO much for the wonderfully detailed positive review! It is wonderful to know that the not so little oasis in Luray was comfortable for you and provided a welcoming environment for your wonderful stay. We too hope that you return in the future and please do bring that keyboard Howie! Best to your wonderful little family! You are awesome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara C
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Warning: your mind will be blown”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you are lucky enough to find this place, congratulations! You are about to stay in one of the most wonderful B&B's that exist in one of the most beautiful parts of the country without paying an arm and a leg! Judy, the host, is fantastic. First of all, she is very responsive and texted and emailed immediately so planning the weekend was stress free. Judy gives you her full attention because it's a one-suite only B&B (no other guests)! It's perfect if you like privacy. Judy went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay. She made my 30th birthday extra special by helping my husband put together a surprise destination picnic including cake, wine, roses and more. It was set up secretly in a gorgeous garden with a lovely view of the mountains. Judy's hiking and winery suggestions made us fall in love with the area. Then there was the outside hot tub with a mountain view in her back yard. I can't tell you how good that hot tub feels after a long day of hiking. The fire-pit is also in the back yard and is such great way to end the day with a glass of wine or three. The B&B itself was very comfy and has everything you would need (iron, hair dryer, more than enough extra towels, sheets, blankets, mini fridge, coffee-maker, TV, WiFi, and much more). Her simple breakfasts are delicious!!! She gets farm fresh food, since of course there are a dozen farms right down the road. If you are looking for a private, romantic getaway in Virginia this is the place to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the host, Judy
Liked least: The shower head needs replacing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Tamara! Thank you so much for the VERY HIP review! Thank you also for being such sunny and warm additions to this little Oasis in Luray meant for love and fellowship. I appreciate the opportunity that was provided to me in providing the wonderful picnic. It was nice to see such a nice couple have such a wonderful unique time. The love your hubby showed was heartwarming in the preparation. You have been a blessing to me and Luray, and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chioma E
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Trip!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I came with two other friends for a girls get-away and it was absolutely fabulous! Judy was an amazing hostess. She told us where in the town to get delicious food, and made delicious daily breakfast! She even made us a fire to make Easter peep s'mores. I highly recommend her farm-to-table breakfast which was truly made with love. The trip was a wonderful getaway from the stresses of city and Judy and her lovely dog Ms. Helen made it feel like a joyous retreat. It definitely exceeded our expectations and we loved every moment of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The delicous breakfast
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
These women on their weekend retreat to this Luray oasis were very special. It was wonderful to see them enjoying their time and the Farm-to-Table Experience (always a treat!) was really special, especially since it was Easter morning. It was a weekend where we got to know each other and I am sure these girls will be friends for life. It will be a pleasure to see them again and any host would be lucky to have them- just like I was! Hugs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyGro8...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Adorable B&B with amazing host!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at Peabody's B&B with two of my girlfriends and we had an absolutely fabulous time! The place was so cozy and cute, the host Judy is incredibly friendly and welcoming, and her dog Helen is a joy. Taking a dip in the hot tub while looking at the mountains/stars and having a roaring fire pit nearby for marshmallow roasting after a day of hiking and wine tasting... what more could you want? Judy's homemade breakfasts are also to die for - they are so delicious. Would absolutely come stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
It was a brightened B&B the minute these three sunny girls arrived! Quick to take me up on my suggestions, it made me smile to see them enjoying them. They are three warm friends moving into a different phase of life with one getting married. This was a great time of fellowship and I enjoyed hosting them very much. I am sure they will make the world a better place in their professions and will enjoy many years of friendship. It will be wonderful to one day get to see them again! Great ladies and friends to one another!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egaina
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Love is the very essence of life”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable time than we had at your lovely adobe. The decorations were marvelous, the food exquisite, and sweet lovely Helen & Judy. We don't think we'll ever forget the gesture, games, breakfast meals, coffees, brownies, hot tub and the essence of love!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Evelina & Raymond, you taught me SO much during you stay and took some of the most wonderful pictures! It was all our pleasure to host you and would recommend you to any future host. Thank you for choosing the Hip Stay! Much love!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing