We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great find”
other travelers have booked this property
Soak in a warm tub and dry off with your soft towels (provided) after an awesome day at the Hip Stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Soak in a warm tub and dry off with your soft towels (provided) after an awesome day at the Hip Stay
Downtown Luray for Spring Fest!  Every May! It's a GREAT day... come see! Love to ski?  Hit those mountains at Massanutten... just a cool 23 miles away!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Soak in a warm tub and dry off with your soft towels (provided) after an awesome day at the Hip Stay
Downtown Luray for Spring Fest!  Every May! It's a GREAT day... come see!
Love to ski?  Hit those mountains at Massanutten... just a cool 23 miles away!
These guests just finished their 'Peabody's Destination Picnic' at Birdsong Pleasure Garden - Smiles
Whether a table for a blanket you will love our 'Destination Picnics' complete with tour of Birdsong
Choose from our variety of Peabody's only relaxation packages!
Lots of love goes into our wonderful goodies!
Sit back or swim on the Shenandoah.
We like drawing lines in the sand (try Lake Arrowhead), the furniture and the sidewalk... some see!
We love you and the environment - two years straight award winning!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FitToBeTr...
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed June 23, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We're frequent travelers, and this little b+b ranks up there with our most pleasant retreats. While not fancy or over-the-top luxurious, Judy creates a comforting, very clean, and welcoming environment for her guests. She's very warm and friendly but only as chatty as you want to be, and seems perfectly suited to her job as a B+B host. Much appreciated touches were yummy breakfasts, delicious homemade cookies, a fire pit (complete with complementary s'mores fixings) and a hot tub. The outdoor space in the back yard is perfectly fine, and will undoubtedly become lovely as recent plantings mature and more are added. The guest suite on the top floor is very private, comfortable, and spacious. The B+B is well-located in the little town of Luray, close to the caverns, a few decent restaurants, a pretty creekside greenway, and Shenandoah National Park, and Judy is very helpful with suggestions about nearby attractions and restaurants. A really great experience--- we hope to return!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: owner was wonderful
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2016
Laurel, Howard & Lucas! Thank you SO much for the wonderfully detailed positive review! It is wonderful to know that the not so little oasis in Luray was comfortable for you and provided a welcoming environment for your wonderful stay. We too hope that you return in the future and please do bring that keyboard Howie! Best to your wonderful little family! You are awesome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara C
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Warning: your mind will be blown”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you are lucky enough to find this place, congratulations! You are about to stay in one of the most wonderful B&B's that exist in one of the most beautiful parts of the country without paying an arm and a leg! Judy, the host, is fantastic. First of all, she is very responsive and texted and emailed immediately so planning the weekend was stress free. Judy gives you her full attention because it's a one-suite only B&B (no other guests)! It's perfect if you like privacy. Judy went above and beyond to help us enjoy our stay. She made my 30th birthday extra special by helping my husband put together a surprise destination picnic including cake, wine, roses and more. It was set up secretly in a gorgeous garden with a lovely view of the mountains. Judy's hiking and winery suggestions made us fall in love with the area. Then there was the outside hot tub with a mountain view in her back yard. I can't tell you how good that hot tub feels after a long day of hiking. The fire-pit is also in the back yard and is such great way to end the day with a glass of wine or three. The B&B itself was very comfy and has everything you would need (iron, hair dryer, more than enough extra towels, sheets, blankets, mini fridge, coffee-maker, TV, WiFi, and much more). Her simple breakfasts are delicious!!! She gets farm fresh food, since of course there are a dozen farms right down the road. If you are looking for a private, romantic getaway in Virginia this is the place to come.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved the host, Judy
Liked least: The shower head needs replacing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Tamara! Thank you so much for the VERY HIP review! Thank you also for being such sunny and warm additions to this little Oasis in Luray meant for love and fellowship. I appreciate the opportunity that was provided to me in providing the wonderful picnic. It was nice to see such a nice couple have such a wonderful unique time. The love your hubby showed was heartwarming in the preparation. You have been a blessing to me and Luray, and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chioma E
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Trip!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I came with two other friends for a girls get-away and it was absolutely fabulous! Judy was an amazing hostess. She told us where in the town to get delicious food, and made delicious daily breakfast! She even made us a fire to make Easter peep s'mores. I highly recommend her farm-to-table breakfast which was truly made with love. The trip was a wonderful getaway from the stresses of city and Judy and her lovely dog Ms. Helen made it feel like a joyous retreat. It definitely exceeded our expectations and we loved every moment of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The delicous breakfast
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
These women on their weekend retreat to this Luray oasis were very special. It was wonderful to see them enjoying their time and the Farm-to-Table Experience (always a treat!) was really special, especially since it was Easter morning. It was a weekend where we got to know each other and I am sure these girls will be friends for life. It will be a pleasure to see them again and any host would be lucky to have them- just like I was! Hugs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmilyGro8...
New York City, New York
1 review
“Adorable B&B with amazing host!”
Reviewed March 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at Peabody's B&B with two of my girlfriends and we had an absolutely fabulous time! The place was so cozy and cute, the host Judy is incredibly friendly and welcoming, and her dog Helen is a joy. Taking a dip in the hot tub while looking at the mountains/stars and having a roaring fire pit nearby for marshmallow roasting after a day of hiking and wine tasting... what more could you want? Judy's homemade breakfasts are also to die for - they are so delicious. Would absolutely come stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2016
It was a brightened B&B the minute these three sunny girls arrived! Quick to take me up on my suggestions, it made me smile to see them enjoying them. They are three warm friends moving into a different phase of life with one getting married. This was a great time of fellowship and I enjoyed hosting them very much. I am sure they will make the world a better place in their professions and will enjoy many years of friendship. It will be wonderful to one day get to see them again! Great ladies and friends to one another!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egaina
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Love is the very essence of life”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We couldn't have asked for a more enjoyable time than we had at your lovely adobe. The decorations were marvelous, the food exquisite, and sweet lovely Helen & Judy. We don't think we'll ever forget the gesture, games, breakfast meals, coffees, brownies, hot tub and the essence of love!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Evelina & Raymond, you taught me SO much during you stay and took some of the most wonderful pictures! It was all our pleasure to host you and would recommend you to any future host. Thank you for choosing the Hip Stay! Much love!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
1 review
“Personalized Hip Stay - Perfected!”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

Staying with Judy was beyond perfect! She is so incredibly kind and hospitable, and the suite is beautiful and spacious. After long days of hiking and vineyard hopping (which she gave great suggestions for), we would end our days with Judy's helpful recommendations of where to eat for dinner, followed by the awesome hot tub in the back. She was so sweet going above and beyond in helping me plan my boyfriend's birthday surprises from private garden tours to personalized, delectable picnics. Helen the guard dog was also a sweetheart and always kept us company whenever we were around :) If I'm ever remotely around the area in the future, this place is definitely my first choice - especially with Judy's farm-to-table breakfast... Peach bake, cinnamon french toast, whipped eggs with brie and tomatoes - YUM! Thank you so much Judy, our stay was absolutely superb!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Judy and Helen!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Christina & Dylan - you were both so much fun to plan the perfect Stay with! I love that you took the suggestions and my best memory is the wonderful Destination Picnic that Dylan chose for you! What a wonderful boyfriend! Helen and I were blessed to have both of you and we cannot wait to have you back! We would recommend you to any future host and can't thank you enough for choosing our little oasis in the Valley for your Hip Stay! Hugs!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan C
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect getaway weekend with an incredible host!”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

My girlfriends and I had an absolute blast spending a 3-day weekend at Judy's. Before our stay Judy was in communication with us about arrival logistics and ideas about how to maximize our experience! When we arrived Judy was welcoming and accommodating. Her home is beautifully decorated and the space is comfortable and cozy. Our first morning we did a farm-to-table breakfast that was out-of-this-world. Judy is an incredible chef and we enjoyed learning about all of the local ingredients used in our meal. Judy had lots of suggestions for activities and restaurants in and around Luray and she never led us astray. Each suggestion was more perfect than the last! We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub drinking wine after a long day of outdoor activities. Peabody's Hip Little Stay was absolutely perfect! I haven't even been home for an hour and I am already trying to brainstorm ways to go back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
Megan, Megan x2, Hannah, Gwen and Jackie were enthusiastic, energetic and fun ladies to host for their girl's getaway! It was a pleasure to help them plan so they could make the most out of their time together and their response was amazing! It was absolutely wonderful to see them and know they were enjoying their time as friends and creating great memories all the while. I would highly recommend every one of these wonderful ladies to future hosts and cannot wait myself to see each one of them again - they are a VERY hip group of ladies and they will no doubt enjoy many years of making memories together!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing