We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL !!”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to the Barred Owl Lodge!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Barred Owl Lodge!
Hot Tub on covered, wrap-around deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Welcome to the Barred Owl Lodge!
Hot Tub on covered, wrap-around deck
Gorgeous views on the road to the Lodge.
Outdoor Fire Pit and Grilling Patio
Make memories in Shenandoah National Park!
Discover Luray Caverns!
Shop, dine, or wander along the Greenway in quaint downtown Luray!
View from the driveway to the Lodge.
Covered Side Porch leading to Outdoor Fire Pit and Grilling Patio.
Covered Front Porch leading to hot tub.
Large yard, privately situated.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wandering...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL !!”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

There was a collective "WOW" as the four of us walked into Barred Owl Lodge. We immediately felt at home in this cozy, well decorated and immaculately clean property. Everything looks exactly as it does in the photos. The owners have thought of every detail to make for a comfortable stay. The hot tub was the perfect place to relax after a day of sightseeing. Cooler evenings were nice for enjoying a fire in the fire pit. The owners provide a wealth of information about the area ~ sightseeing ideas, things to do, locations of nearby grocery stores, restaurants and local favorites. We will definitely stay here again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2016
Thank you your kind words and for choosing us for your place to stay in the Shenandoah Valley! We will look forward to seeing you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankur R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway in the Shenandoah valley”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Loved the cabin, everything was new and worked really well. The hot tub was fantastic, perfect views and a lovely fire pit to light a fire. The barbecue grill is a little small and not the right size for a group of 4 or larger. But we grilled right over the fire and it turned out perfect. Would definitely recommend the place for a quick weekend getaway, everything is supplied and is fully furnished. The collapsible beds (cots) are not very comfortable, so if you are more than a group of 4 adults, be advised that it is not the right cabin.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2016
We thank this guest for his positive review and echo his comments on the comfortable capacity of 4 adults. We allow up to 6 guests, but like to keep a max of 4 adults at a time so that everyone has plenty of space to relax. We've hosted dozens of families of 5-6 with great reviews but all adults gets a little close. We explained this to this guest, but made an exception at his request. We're glad he still enjoyed his stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron F
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cabin in a terific setting”
Reviewed July 1, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin was everything we could have asked for, extremely clean which made us feel right at home. Could not wait to get back after a day of hiking in SNP and get into the Hot Tub and enjoy a few cocktails. The cabin has anything and everything you need to make your vacation memorable. We would not hesitate to stay here again upon our next visit to this area.
I was a little hesitant to use Trip Advisor as a booking mechanism for this cabin but the process was so easy and frequent feedback from the owners made me feel at ease.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, Hot Tub
Liked least: Squeaky Bed in MBR
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TinafromN...
Keyport, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular Stay”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My family had a wonderful stay at this property. The entire experience was fantastic. The owners were prompt with responses and offered many suggestions. The directions and supplemental information provided by the owners was extremely helpful. The property itself was very well-kept. The outdoor and indoor areas were impeccably clean and tidy. The furnishings were modern and comfortable. I will definitely revisit this property. Thank you for a spectacular stay!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing, it was all great!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chang X
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cabin with access to fantastic views”
Reviewed March 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is my parent's first visit to US.
They are very excited about this great cabin.
We hiked to Stony man summit, which in my opinion is the best mountain view in Shenandoah.
Massanutten storybook trail and lake arrowhead recreation park are also in 20-minutes driving distance with excellent view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
565Carole
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Beautiful cabin with everything we needed! Perfect location for everything we wanted to see. Very relaxing!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Gravel driveway
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing