We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green Tree Inn B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed at the Green Tree Inn, but it was a B & B. We were told it is owned by the daughter of Mayneview B & B, that is out of the country, but managed by the owner of Woodruff B & B. I guess they help each other out. He made a fantastic breakfast, wow, very impressed with the feast we had. The rom was downstairs, very comfortable 4 poster bed. LR not so inviting. Great jacuzzi. We were the only ones there the first night. Second night you could hear the late night arrivals managing the narrow staircase. If you are large or have large suitcases, don't mess with trying to maneuver those steep, narrow staircase, they are ankle twisters. But the rooms are pretty upstairs.

Room Tip: Their is no pool, just a fabulous jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bella1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 114 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had a lovely weekend at this quaint little B&B! Paul was a wonderful host, sharing friendly advice about local dining options and area attractions, including how to get a great discount at the Luray Caverns.

The room we stayed in (Merlin) was spacious, clean and charming, with a fireplace and a lovely armoire. The hosts left us complimentary sparkling cider and chocolates, as well as cozy robes and slippers that came in handy when we braved the cold and headed out to the hot tub, which sits on the deck overlooking all of Luray and a beautiful mountain view. Molly, the sweet house cat, spent the whole weekend purring and keeping us company.

On the first floor, you'll find a sitting room, extra bathroom, game room and TV room with a flat screen TV and a great selection of DVDs. The kitchen is toward the back of the house, where breakfast is served buffet-style every morning between 8 and 10 a.m. Breakfast is delicious: pecan pancakes, french toast, various quiches and frittatas, breakfast meats, fruit salad, coffee cake, yogurt, cereal, milk, orange juice, coffee and tea. We are vegetarians, and we really appreciated the hosts accommodating our needs without any problems. The kitchen also has a large mini fridge, microwave and complimentary snacks and beverages for guests to enjoy.

If you're looking for a B&B that will pamper you without intruding and breathing down your neck, Mayneview is the place for you! Overall a wildly impressive value for only $99 a night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacquelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I've had a difficult time trying to write a review for this B&B. I guess it's just adequate. For the pros - it's in a good location in Luray, parking on premises, the room was an ok size and clean, there was no noise from other rooms, and breakfast was plentiful and there's a small fridge for guest use. However, when I stay at a B&B, I am accustomed to being pampered, both in accommdations and breakfast. Not so in this case. It's an old house with a narrow staircase going up to the rooms, so keep that in mind if you have a lot of luggage or large pieces. Some will say that the house has period furniture, which I guess it does. On this same trip we stayed at another B&B which had beautiful, inviting period furniture, but this was just old, uncomfortable and uninviting. The fixtures in the bathroom in the room should have been replaced long ago; it made for the sink & bathroom to look dirty and neglected. The shower curtain didn't close properly, so trying not to get the floor wet was a problem. Breakfast in the morning was ample, but nothing special - eggs, potatoes, sausage & muffins - same as you can make at home or get anywhere. We were supposed to all sit around the table to eat, but that didn't happen. Paul was nice enough and helpful, but we never saw his wife. If you're expectations aren't high, you will be fine here; but if you expect a B&B where you will feel pampered, this is not it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayneview, Owner at MayneView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

As with most of our guests, this guest's experience was based on expectations. For the overwhelming majority of our guests our inn's amenities and accommodations meet or exceed their expectations (see other reviews). To be clear, we do not market ourselves as a luxury B&B that "pampers" guests. We provide cozy, comfortable accommodations and helpful, personal service to our guests. With the exception of 2 rooms, we do not have modern bathrooms; most have claw foot tubs with showers. The bathroom fixtures and showers are all functional and it should be noted that claw foot tubs were not designed with showers in mind. All of our guests are served breakfast around a large table or they serve themselves when we have buffets and eat at the table. In either case, I'm not sure what this guest was referring to by saying, "it didn't happen". They didn't see my wife as she was probably working in the kitchen and it's my job to interface with guests. I would amend the last sentence in this review by saying, "If you have realistic expectations based a review of the B&B's website and other guests favorable comments, you will be fine here; but if you want to be pampered, there are other more expensive options in the area".
Paul Edwards
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed a very nice stay here at Mayne View and it was an excellent stopping-off point on our journey. It is old-fashioned, in the best sense, and the hosts are gracious and charming. Breakfast was excellent and because we and the other two guests were sat around a large table, served in a friendly atmosphere. Perhaps on reflection we should have spent more time here, exploring the Shenandoah Valley and the caverns or taking a hiking trail: but as it was, we had a very peaceful night and woke to a spectacular view of the mountains and tempting smells from the kitchen. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a peaceful, restful night at the MayneView B&B in Luray, during a vacation in Shenandoah Nat'l Park. The hosts were very helpful with dining information and hiking trail info, the breakfast was delicious, and our room / bathroom were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Shenandoah and had been looking into getting a cabin at the Skyland Resort in the park.

Cabin w/taxes: $120
Mayneview w/taxes: $109

With the cabin you get a private bathroom and not much else. The Mayneview is only a few minutes off Skyline Drive and has so many great amenities. The hot tub was great after hiking Old Rag and the included breakfast in the morning was really above and beyond.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChazTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I just returned from spending 2 nights at the Greentree Inn. From other reviews I expected to walk a block to get our breakfast at the MayneView B&B, but that is not what happened. John, who is the property manager, not the owner, was fantastic. We stayed a Mon & Tuesday, so it turned out that we were the only guests at the Greentree. This turned out to our advantage, as we had the whole place to ourselves. The decor is country meets Victorian. It is very cozy. If you are looking for elegant, is this not the place. If you want to feel cozy and at home, you will like this. I expected to walk a block for the buffet breakfast at the Maynetree, but John came in both mornings to fix breakfast for us, and both days it was great (and way too much for me to eat, my husband had to help me -- delicious).

We stayed in the Willow Room on the 1st floor -- the bathroom is not en suite, however, this was not a detraction for us. The other rooms are upstairs and have the bathroom/shower en suite, however, we really liked the downstairs. We are very active 55-year-olds, and just wanted comfort, which we got. If you are infirm, stay in the Willow Room, which is on the first floor. The stairs are very narrow to get upstairs, so you have to be stable.

A happy surprise that wasn't noted on the website was a hot tub, which fits 2.

I liked the location of this B&B, as we had dinner at the Mislyn Inn both nights and it was a very short walk. If you go there, be sure to get their sandwiches and entrees that feature pork. My husband had the Pork & Ham sandwich and said it was great. On the 2nd night I had the Pulled Pork sandwich and it was the best I've had anywhere, (and I love pork so I order this a lot). The sauce is vinegar based with some heat. Really good, loved it.

Room Tip: Very gracious host. Slept well, bed is comfortable. I loved the Willow Room, if you are infirm, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juli N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
57 reviews
14.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MayneView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Address: 439 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1818
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: $247 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MayneView Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Views In Luray!Over the winter we have undergone a number of upgrades and renovations! We have added mini split HVAC units to all of the bedrooms and cottage, renovated several of the bathrooms, upgraded beds, replaced the linens and towels, refinished the floors, repainted, added lighting and more! We will continue to make upgrades in the near future. Come out and see what we've done. If you are looking for a relaxed, comfortable get away, that close to everything the Luray area has to offer, we are your best choice. Our family friendly B & B, originally built in 1865 is nestled between the Shenandoah National Park and the George Washington National Forest and features stunning views of the mountains and town. We provide six guest bedrooms in the B&B, all with private baths/showers. A delicious, complete breakfast is served each morning for B&B guests. We also provide a 2 bedroom cottage, breakfast not included, which features a small kitchen, space for 6 guests and a private 8 X 30 ft deck for enjoying the breathtaking mountain views. The scenery can also be appreciated from our spacious front porch, from our 4 person hot tub, and many of our guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your MayneView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing