We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved the Hook Cabin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
Save
You added Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Luray
md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Hook Cabin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

My family and I just returned from a weeks vacation in the "Hook Cabin" in Shenandoah. I could not have been more happy with this trip. The cabin was breathtaking..much better than I had expected. The best suprise was how close the river was, to the cabin. Traveling with a few children, the accessability of the River, was my biggest concern. They were able to catch minnows, swing from the rope swing, swim, and tube, all in front of the cabin. The water was free of debris, and pretty clear. We are already planning our next stay at this cabin. You WILL NOT be dissapointed.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Loved everything about it!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaci31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    4
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

This place is #1 in my book. My husband and I stay at their Osprey cabin at least once a year, if not more. Directly on the Shenandoah River, these little cabins are perfect for a stay full of outdoor adventure. We kayaked everyday. The Outfitters store run their own kayaking, tubing, canoeing business, but since we had our own kayak, for a small fee, they will pick you up and take you back to your vehicle. They even picked us up one day all the way on the other side of the River in Bentonville when we wanted to go down further than their normal trips. Everyone is friendly and accomodating and their drivers are great. The cabin is small, but its plenty of room for what you need to do. Two full beds, with twin bunks over, could sleep 6. Bathroom with shower...and AC! Small fridge, microwave and two burner stove (which tends to work when it wants to) But use the outside Grille. Theres a firepit for each cabin too. Must start fires to keep bugs away.

  • Liked — Location on River
  • Disliked — Spiders and gnats that are immune to bug spray
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rivergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We were looking for a place that we could get a group of friends together for a camping/canoeing weekend. I started searching online and I found Shenandoah River Outfitters. I called them on the phone initially to see how to make reservations and they were so friendly. We stayed in the Drifter and the Paddler cabins. These cabins are very far out and they take some time to reach because you travel on a gravel road. The peace and quiet out there was what we all really needed. Everyone loved the cabins and we already have our cabins booked this Memorial Day 2007. All the beds were equally comfortable and the cabins are perfect for people who just need a place to lay their head at night. The only time we used the cabins were to sleep and shower. The views and air outside were so incredible we all just wanted to stay outside. We liked it so much in May 2006 that we booked again for another weekend in August 2006. Each time we got back we take new friends with us and they get hooked on the place too. So this year when we go back we’re renting 2 cabins instead of just 2. It’s very affordable and worth every penny. We have our own canoes, but Shenandoah River Outfitter will rent canoes for a reasonable price. I highly recommend this for anyone! Just make sure to take every thing you need because like I said you are out in mother nature and it's a long ride back to the grocery store.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank venableteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2006

If you want a quiet, scenic, private retreat--with a little river kayaking thrown in--within the Shanendoah River Valley, look no further than the Shanendoah River Outfitters and Cabins. We spent two lovely, peaceful nights in a rustic cabin, just a few yards from the gently moving Shanendoah River. The cabin (which easily sleeps six comfortably in two bedrooms) was complete with two-burner stove, microwave, coffeemaker, refrigerator, and cooking utensils. A high front porch overlooked the scenic river in a small forest clearing. Serene, peaceful, with wildlife easily viewable from our own window. The kayak rentals and tours can be booked just 3 miles away along the gravel road; the staff were helpful, informative, and courteous. And the town of Luray was just the peaceful place to relaxe, unwind, and enjoy inexpensive homecooked meals or small-town antique shopping. Imagine: a couple of miles from D.C. and all this wooded, peaceful rest is available! Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank InOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.6 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
6.2 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
11.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins

Property: Shenandoah River Outfitters and River Cabins
Address: 6502 S Page Valley Rd, Luray, VA 22835-2674
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Shenandoah River Outfitters And River Cabins Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing