We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent the weekend at this amazingly beautiful bed and breakfast and had an amazing time. Christa was an excellent host, and the property is extremely inviting and has a great view of the mountains. A perfect place to get out of the city and relax. Also, we are a gay couple and were a bit nervous about how well we'd be received at the b&b, but it ended up not being a big deal at all. Christa was extremely welcoming, and she clearly is very gay-friendly. We are planning on going again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Queen's Room and loved it. Had a two-person hot tub which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WINYBODC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtninnlady, Owner at Once Upon a Mountain, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
thank you for writing this review and, especially, for mentioning the gay friendly atmosphere. I don't want anybody to feel excluded. I enjoyed meeting both of you very much and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
258
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at "Once Upon a Mountain" for two nights and had a very good time. The rooms were beautifully furnished, the garden was very nice and the location and view in the middle of the nature exactly what we wanted.
The owner was very helpful giving us advice on where to go in the area. She also offered her fire place for a nice outside fire in the evening, which made our stay even better.
Furthermore, her breakfast was delicious!
Overall, we can definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My girlfriend and I just spent the most amazing weekend at Once Upon a Time. From the moment we booked this B&B to the final good bye, our hostess Christa made us feel at home. Her breakfasts were fantastic, she laid out fire making materials and smores makings to use in the fire pit, and her home was beautiful. The home is quiet and secluded and made for a wonderful weekend getaway. She has a very friendly and well trained dog named Willie who played a wonderful "host" as well. The conversation around breakfast was truly wonderful. Christa made me feel so at home, I felt like a college kid coming home to visit mom for the weekend. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND HER HOME.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoss P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtninnlady, Owner at Once Upon a Mountain, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
it takes a wonderful guest to make it a great visit - thank you. I enjoyed our interesting conversations and look forward to your return visit, Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was attracted to Once Upon a Mountain by all the great reviews and it lived up to all the great comments! Christa is so charming, friendly, helpful...I could go on! Communication with her is great. We stayed in the Princess and The Pea room which was perfect for our romantic getaway. The hot tub is right out the door and just beyond that is a great fire pit set up. We roasted marshmallows, alone one night and with the other couples the next. Breakfast is amazing...yogurt parfait always then followed by an amazing egg dish with fresh fruit. Christa is a wonderful cook and hostess. Willy her dog comes around after breakfast (as he is so well trained) and marches around in the shadows guarding us in the evening=) She had great suggestions on things to do. We were able to be alone and private when we wanted or engage in talk with Christa or the other guests as well. We are already discussing our next visit.

Room Tip: Princess and the pea is on the lower level and opens right out to the backyard and the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a great time at Once Upon a Mountain this weekend. Christa was a great host, making us feel very welcome in her home and making a great (and large!) breakfast. The property views are fantastic, we had a nice time making a bonfire with the other guests, the jacuzzi was lovely....all around a great time.

We stayed in the Queen's Suite, which is a very comfortably sized room with tons of closet space, two comfy chairs, a two person whirlpool in the bathroom, and a small stall shower. The room was very clean. Overall it was comfy and homey - though I do want to warn city folk that this is a cabin in the woods so expect bugs! It didn't bother me at all - I was kind of surprised how few there were - but if you're not used to that I just wanted to warn you.

I'd say the Queen's Suite is the most private of the three rooms. The other two rooms are on the other side of the house - the Princess on a Pea Suite patio is directly below the Sleeping Beauty deck. However, you pay for the privacy with less awesome views, and I was wishing we had a proper chair out on our area of the deck (there are loungers but no actual chairs). I don't think you can really go wrong between the three rooms though, honestly.

Also, it should be noted that Willie the dog is a full time resident. He is extremely well behaved.

We will probably come back to Once Upon A Mountain in the future.

Room Tip: I'd say the Queen's Suite is the most private/quiet of the three rooms. The other two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

From the warm, like-family welcome to the hug goodbye, Christa will ensure the most wonderful visit to the Shenandoah Valley.

Recommended room: Sleeping Beauty, a lovely room with plenty of space to be comfortable and a gorgeous view of the mountains from a semi-private deck. A carafe of coffee is delivered to a tray right outside the door each morning to enjoy at your leisure.

Daily breakfast prepared by Christa is the perfect way to fuel your day of hiking, visiting the Luray Caverns or shopping for antiques. Fresh fruit, homemade yogurt and granola, followed by a second course of hearty delicious Finnish pancakes or egg, ham, spinach frittata. Yummy!

The view is all you need, but we enjoyed a bottle of wine from a local winery by the fire pit one night. The grounds also have a hot tub, a hammock and lots of shaded lounges to relax. The birds, including a shy hummingbird delighted us with their songs and antics to rule the feeders.

And of course there is Willie, the most loyal protector of the house. Christa has created a place that makes each guest feel at home. Easy conversations, knowledgeable recommendations for excursions away from the property. We will visit again!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Misty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Fabulous B&B for a peaceful and relaxing three days. We slept like a rock and had wonderful views from our balcony. The breakfasts were devine and we enjoyed our conversations with Christa. Hugs to Willi.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Sleeping Beauty" room and it was light and airy, with a nice balcony to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
961 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
39 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
2.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Property: Once Upon a Mountain
Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing