We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Mountain Getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mountain Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our two night stay at Once Upon a Mountain was excellent. Christa is warm, attentive, and knowledgeable; she (and Willie) immediately welcomed us into her home and offered us great suggestions about where to eat and hike, and was happy to answer any questions we had. She lent us a great guide book and some chairs before we drove to the mountains to enjoy the sunset. The Rose River trail she recommended was a treat at the end of our trip. The property itself is tucked into the mountains and beautifully situated. The hot tub has a stunning view of the mountains and stars, and the fire pit is cozy and the perfect end to a day of hiking. The Princess and the Pea suite is spacious, on the lower level and has its own staircase and entryway - very private and the hot tub is located right outside. We would definitely recommend this B&B for a wonderful mountain getaway.

Room Tip: The Princess and the Pea suite is spacious, on the lower level and has its own staircase and entrywa...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mbt1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
254
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Browns Mills, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My boyfriend and I had the most magical two nights here in the queen's suite. Christa and Willie are such lovely and gracious hosts, making us feel so genuinely comfortable and welcome. I will remember this place until the end of my days, and I am counting the days until we can return!

Room Tip: I personally recommend the queen's suite for the private jacuzzi tub. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We just returned from a hiking trip to Virginia which included a two night stay in Once Upon a Mountain. I found the website by searching places near the Blue Ridge mountains and was delighted to see what a beautiful and special spot it is. Our hostess Chista could not have been more helpful and welcoming. She loaned us gloves and poles for our hiking , made delicious breakfasts and had everything we could possibly have needed. We absolutely loved the view, a campfire in a pit stocked with wood , a lovely hot tub and a beautiful yet cozy home. We enjoyed her dog Willie who was so sweet and well behaved. We left early on our second day and Christa graciously made us an early breakfast and coffee. We will look forward to returning to Once Upon a Mountain and seeing Krista and Willie again!

Room Tip: The three rooms are all lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

This B&B is a dream. Located a few miles outside of Luray, the drive through pastoral Shenandoah Valley is gorgeous. The log home is beautifully situated atop the Blue Ridge mountains and combines rustic elegance with excellent hospitality. We unfortunately :) were snowed in an extra day and our hostess couldn't have been more wonderful. Two thumbs up! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plumzz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Browns Mills, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

I took my girlfriend to stay one night in the queens suite, and was unable to leave the next and ended up staying another night! It was very difficult to leave! The hosts Christa and Willy (sweetest dog in the world) welcome you with such open hands and hearts... The view, the privacy, and the atmosphere are absolutely perfect, and even though we had an unexpected snowstorm, not even that could tarnish this perfect getaway. Go there if you want your hearts warmed and your souls rejuvenated!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Peyton and I stayed checked in this past weekend and had a blast. Christa and Willie (pet dog) took us in w/ open arms. The view, food and service was second to none. I highly recommend taking a trip to Luray and see Christa/ Willie. Thanks for a beautiful weekend. Email me if you need direct reference. Yes, I like it this much. 703-623-7385

Room Tip: We stayed in Sleeping Beauty, but the other rooms were nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a delightful location and beautiful setting.

Too bad the bed linens were stained, the shower dirty, and the towels wearing thin.

The Hostess was warm and sweet. Breakfast was good!

Loved being close to the National Parks and access to the hiking trains.

All in all we would choose a different place to stay the next time we were in town.

NOT a 4 star experience.

Room Tip: Disappointed in choices of restaurants in Luray. Loved hiking in the mountains in the area and eat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtninnlady, Owner at Once Upon a Mountain, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for writing a review. I would like you to know that we replace many towels during the year and I will make sure this one is replaced. Regarding the 'dirt' on the bottom of the shower stall, this is a combination of silicon plus minerals from our well water. It can only look clean by replacing the silicon - and that will look 'dirty' again in no time. So sorry, but that is the problem with mountain well water. The stain on the blanket is from coffee which I've tried to get out with all kinds of cleaners to no success. I'll replace it also.
Please let us know who you are so we can extend a gift certificate for a return visit.
Best regards, Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
4.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Property: Once Upon a Mountain
Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing