We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Miss You Already!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent a few nights for our wedding with Christa and Willie. Things did not go exactly as planned for the wedding but we were so, so fortunate to have OUAM to go "home" to. We could not have hoped for a warmer welcome or more relaxing respite.
We don't even want to write a review because then you all will book it and make it tougher for us to go back!
You can pretty much expect all of the boxes to be checked for what you might expect of a well-kept b&b-very clean, great food, AMAZING mountain views. But what makes this place magical is the wonderful woman that calls it home.
OUAM will always hold a special place in our hearts and we hope to make it back as often as we can.

Room Tip: The Queens Suite is amazing but doesn't have the perfect mountain view of the other rooms. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 344 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went to the mountains to celebrate our anniversary and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The home has just 3 rooms for rental, so it's very cozy. We had the place to ourselves the first day, and thoroughly enjoyed meeting the other guests the next day. Christa is outstanding, making great suggestions for restaurants. Her food was spectacular and she was more than willing to share the recipes. She even gave us an anniversary card! Try to get there before sunset because it helps knowing about the road on the mountain while you can see it. Your cell phone might not always work there so be prepared to become unplugged!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeT418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Once Upon a Mountain this summer to celebrate our anniversary, and could not have been more thrilled with our choice to stay at this gorgeous location. Christa was such a wonderful host, and her breakfasts were delicious! We stayed in the Sleeping Beauty room, with unbelievable views out to the Shenandoah Valley mountains. Once Upon a Mountain is off the beaten path in Luray, however a short 10 minute drive to town where we encountered some really good food and music that plays every Friday night in the town park. We would recommend this location to anyone going to the Shenandoah area, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was looking for somewhere relaxing to celebrate my husband's 65th birthday. We spend so much time at the beach that I thought the mountains would be nice and "Wow" did I find a good place. One day my husband called me out to the deck and said "Listen". I said "what?" and he said "that's just it, NOTHING". The hot tub was awesome! And Christa's breakfasts are fantastic. She is a delightful hostess!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beacher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

About an hour-ish out of DC and you too can be in a new world of relaxation that will refresh you in ways that you can't describe but absolutely need. I am not one for "granola' superlatives but the sounds and sights that Christa's home provides is breathtaking. Yes, there is a lot to do in Luray and on the river, bit just sitting on the lawn and watching the 'storm' of hummingbirds will help ease the pain and stress of the Pentagon and all the city (expletive) that made you want to get away in the first place . Bring a book, a bottle of wine, and leave your electronics in the suitcase. The only so-called bad thing about our trip was leaving.

Room Tip: The "Queen's Room" is amazing and the bed was definitely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I found Christa's B&B on the web as we searched for a quiet, relaxing and enjoyable place to spend our 10th anniversary. Christa is a fabulous hostess. Willie is the sweetest southern gentledog. The food, the home, conversations, everything were fantastic. We had a very special anniversary. Thank you Christa

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ME S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were looking for a quiet, romantic place for my fiancée's birthday and boy did we find it. The house was about as gorgeous as the views from the deck outside if our room. Breakfast was fantastic, and Christa was a great host. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleepyc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
53 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
2.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing