We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for elopements & romantic getaways!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Christa, thank you again for hosting us this past weekend. Carlos and I had a wonderful time at your place. We couldn't have picked a better spot for our elopement. Thank you for the decorations, for coordinating the ceremony, for the pictures, and for your wonderful company. Even though we run away to get married alone, we felt like if we were with family. We are looking forward to coming back to Once Upon a Mountain really soon. All the best now and always, Ela.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarEla7981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 346 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We were on our way home from a long weekend in Asheville, NC and decided to stay over in Luray to break up our drive. We found Once Upon a Mountain online as we were driving and decided to try it out. When we arrived, Christa and Willy, her dog, welcomed us to the inn and made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Queen's Suite and which was very comfortable and with lots of room. The bathroom was large and has a big whirlpool tub which was very welcome after driving for the day.

The inn is very warm and inviting to lounge about a relax. The great room in the center of the inn has a couch in it that is so comfortable to sit in by the fireplace. Christa has some great magazines laying around to read while relaxing. We loved sitting and talking to Christa who made us feel so comfortable sitting at the breakfast table.

I would highly recommend spending some time at Once Upon a Mountain, you will not regret it! We loved it so much we booked another weekend for later this year before we left. We can't wait to go back!!

Christa recommended the Artisans Grill on the square in Luray and it was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdutton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A friend and I spent the weekend hiking in the Shenandoah and couldn't have come up with a better base to operate from than than this B&B. Christa and her gentle dog, Willie, received us warmly and provided excellent orientation on local hiking options. The house is both warm and engaging- the kind of place you're happy to return to after a long day on the trails. Stacks of interesting books, eclectic decor (Christa is clearly a sophisticated world traveler) and comfortable furniture to unwind on. The panoramic views of the valley and outdoor hot tub alone were worth the price of admission. Breakfast and conversation with Christa and her friends were so pleasant we ended up lingering longer than we intended to. Among the plethora of B&Bs out there, Once Upon a Mountain is a standout. I'll be returning....this time with my wife.

Room Tip: If you're into hot tubbing, go with the basement level room that opens onto the back patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and I are having a wedding reception in Luray in June. We took a little trip there a couple of weeks ago to "scout Bed and Breakfasts" and try caterers. We lucked into Once Upon a Mountain and LOVED it. The house and property were BEAUTIFUL. Think: sitting in a hot tub with a glass of champagne and watching the sunset. Betsy was so friendly and so helpful. She gave us SO many tips to help us plan fun activities and provide nice housing for our friends and family. I'd highly suggest this place! I'd also highlight that I am not a BnB person and the fact that I loved this place says a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridaangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

For Christmas 2012 I gave my boyfriend a weekend away. We chose to stay at Once Upon a Mountain. Christa(the owner) was away but she left us in the very capable hands of her friend and former Inn Keeper Betsy and her pup Tinker-bell. The first night and morning my boyfriend and I were the only guests so we had breakfast chatting with Betsy about EVERYTHING such a great lady and so knowledgable. Coffee was waiting for us outside of our room every morning before breakfast. Breakfast was promptly served at 9 and was delicious. I don't know how she knew but Saturday we had my favorite breakfast and Sunday we had my boyfriends favorite breakfast. Our second night another couple was also staying and we all ended the evening watching the end of the Ravens vs Broncos playoff game together. Everyone was wonderful company. The whole experience was very cozy and we were made to feel like family. We had such a great time and on our way home we stopped at a winery (Oak Barrel Winery) which Betsy had suggested and had even given us a coupon for 2 free tastings. It was the perfect way to top off the weekend :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast, and it could not have been better! We felt right at home and the breakfast was a true gourmet experience. There is a hot tub right outside the rooms with a beautiful mountain view, which was great for relaxing in at night. Christa went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We had such a good experience we ended up staying an extra night! We will be back!

Julie and Rob

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJS10220517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was a perfect night away from D.C. Christa was very friendly and willing to help us with everything. The breakfast was delicious--pumpkin/apple pancakes with bacon and fresh fruit. Yum! The room is clean and beautifully decorated. It felt removed from the rest of the world even though it was just a short drive to downtown Luray. It was the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
139 reviews
19.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
4.7 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing