We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular mountainside getaway.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Beautiful large rooms and commOn spaces. Christa the owner was delightful and helpful. Gorgeous breakfast. Balcony hammock and hot tub to ensure relaxation. Really felt totally removed and in wilderness, but in very comfortable setting! There is a drive up gravel roads but perfectly navigable.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leshehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you find yourself in or near the D.C. area and need to get away from the heat, concrete and car horns. This is the place. Classy, quiet and at the top of a mountain with spectacular views. Two summers ago my husband and I were on our way from Michigan to North Carolina when we stumbled upon this place and decided we had to go back. This B&B is beautiful, the hostess was charming and the attention to detail was superb. We were expecting a simple over-night, extended it to two, enjoyed breakfast in bed and a hot-tub under the stars. Last summer we did it again and I'm writing this because our annual pilgrimage is about to commence. What a nice change from the flat lands of Michigan and the heat of the Eastern Sea-Board in July.

Room Tip: The Princess suite is the place to sleep with it's large, private jacuzzi bath and semi-private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Just back from a wonderful weekend at 'Once Upon a Mountain'. This B&B is a gem in the Shenandoah Mountains. The first thing Christa did was offer me a glass of wine to enjoy in the hot tub. What a view! Doesn't get any better than this!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Once Upon a Mountain! The home was absolutely lovely, welcoming and very clean. The innkeeper, Christa, was everything in a hostess you would want! We stayed in the "Sleeping Beauty" room. It was perfect. The bedding was wonderful, the towels were so luxurious, and the decor was so homey! We were only able to stay one night - but we used the hot tub 3 times - it was perfect! You can't find a better view in Luray than Once Upon a Mountain. We wanted some place close to hike in Shenandoah and this B&B was perfect. Christa made excellent recommendations for dinner. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Two friends and myself spent a weekend here and had the most wonderful time.
the rooms are lovely, the breakfasts delicious,and Christa, the owner made us feel ,
very much at home.
We highly reccomend this B&B and have already made reservations to come here with our husbands
What a beautiful place on the mountain top

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 lovely nights in the Sleeping Beauty room. The views from our room were excellent, and the food was great - each day something different was served to us. Christa (the owner) was very welcoming and provided us with ideas, a hiking book and maps to make visiting the area really easy. The atmosphere with the other guests in the house was very relaxed and friendly. It is a little out of the way so you have to drive for a little while to find dinner in the evenings but it is worth it for the views and the peaceful location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_dr_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I hate to be the only one to complain about this B&B, especially since I really wanted to love it. The proprietor was very nice, and that counts for a lot. Sadly, when the room is as filthy as the "Princess and the Pea Suite", nice just won't get you through it. Part (or much) of the problem comes down to disrepair: a coat of paint could go a long way here. However, a thorough cleaning is also severely needed. The bedding (or maybe the bed itself?) smells like socks, the toilet was filthy... I could go on. That said, the view was great and again, the owner (and one adorable pup) is very nice. Also, something tells me that not all of the suites in this B&B are as filthy as the "Pea".

Room Tip: Avoid Princess and the Pea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank treetraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtninnlady, Owner at Once Upon a Mountain, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
I only wish you had come to me with your issues about the room. I would also gladly refund or extend another weekend to you. Given all the "excellent" reviews and my 5-star rating makes me look at the Princess on a Pea room with a new critical eye.
thanks, Christa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,013 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
138 reviews
19.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
4.7 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing