We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Mountain Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Once Upon a Mountain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Mountain Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for 3 lovely nights in the Sleeping Beauty room. The views from our room were excellent, and the food was great - each day something different was served to us. Christa (the owner) was very welcoming and provided us with ideas, a hiking book and maps to make visiting the area really easy. The atmosphere with the other guests in the house was very relaxed and friendly. It is a little out of the way so you have to drive for a little while to find dinner in the evenings but it is worth it for the views and the peaceful location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_dr_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
249
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I hate to be the only one to complain about this B&B, especially since I really wanted to love it. The proprietor was very nice, and that counts for a lot. Sadly, when the room is as filthy as the "Princess and the Pea Suite", nice just won't get you through it. Part (or much) of the problem comes down to disrepair: a coat of paint could go a long way here. However, a thorough cleaning is also severely needed. The bedding (or maybe the bed itself?) smells like socks, the toilet was filthy... I could go on. That said, the view was great and again, the owner (and one adorable pup) is very nice. Also, something tells me that not all of the suites in this B&B are as filthy as the "Pea".

Room Tip: Avoid Princess and the Pea!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank treetraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtninnlady, Owner at Once Upon a Mountain, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
I only wish you had come to me with your issues about the room. I would also gladly refund or extend another weekend to you. Given all the "excellent" reviews and my 5-star rating makes me look at the Princess on a Pea room with a new critical eye.
thanks, Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We have just experienced an excellent overnight stop at Once upon a Mountain. The views of the mountains from the house are breathtaking and our host could not have been more welcoming and informative about the area. Although out of town, we were provided with good details of the directions to take and had no difficulty in reaching our destination. Our breakfast was delicious. We would recommend this venue.

Room Tip: If you would like to be in a log cabin environment choose the Queen's room or Sleeping Beauty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy_greenish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband spent three nights at Once Upon A Mountain - it was fabulous! Christa has a way of making you feel comfortable and welcome - like you are a long lost friend stopping in for a visit. The resident dog, Willie is absolutely adorable, well trained and has good manners. The entire house had such a warm and cozy feel. We loved our room, Sleeping Beauty. Every morning we woke up with a beautiful view of the mountains and sunlight streaming into our room. A pot of coffee outside the room every day was a nice touch, every day breakfast was more delicous than the day before. Christa offered some wonderful suggestions for things to do and places to go, even mapped out a driving route for us. Great experience, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I had a great weekend and reconnecting that was well overdue. Christa was a fantastic host and created a wonderful breakfast and great coffee to boot. We were treated like family! Christa's friend Mike was equally nice and we even enjoyed cocktails with them at The Mimslyn Inn where Mike had courage enough to get up in front of everyone and sang an Irish song for all of us!

Christa's home is very inviting and superbly situated in the mountains around Luray, VA with a beautiful view of the mountains and quiet that we so enjoyed. We enjoyed the Queen's suite which was very nice especially the giant 2 person Whirlpool bath! We battled the occasional stink bug - which have been a problem around alot of areas in Virginia already this year. They didn't annoy us too much.

the weather was perfect and warm for March...we even slept with our sliding door open both nights! We also enjoyed drinking several bottles of wine and just relaxing in the Hot Tub and also making and sitting around the roaring bonfire!

Bring flip flops if you do decide to walk to the hot tub, gravel hurts the feet! Other than that my wife had a great time being together on our mini-vacation... away from the stresses of living! Also check out the Brookside Restaurant located on Rt. 211 for a great, down home meal!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Our weekend at Once Upon a Mountain was fabulous. The views are incredible and the area is beautiful. Our room was warm and cozy and the food was delicious. The real treat was spending time with and getting to know Christa. She is a gracious host, an interesting person and a wonderful cook.

We have stayed many places, but our stay at Once Upon a Mountain was one of the most delightful experiences we have ever had at a Bed and Breakfast. If you are ever in the area this is a must stay!

Cliff & Bonnie

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Once Upon a Mountain is a retreat from the hectic pace of life. You enter the calm, inviting home of Christa and immediately feel at peace. The surroundings enhance the experience set in the hills, distant from noise and commotion. It was raining while we were there so we didn't get to experience relaxing outdoors, but I know we will be back to savor it.
The rooms are spacious and light filled and comfortable. The breakfasts are delicious and Christa has many great suggestions for activities in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkhskfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
2.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
4.6 mi away
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Property: Once Upon a Mountain
Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing