We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallisellen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed just one night with Christa begining of October but we liked it very much. The B&B has a nice view and our room was very cozy. Christa baked Brownies for us when we came back from town, they were delicious. We recommend this B&B to all our friends and hope to be back one day. Thank you Christa!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahaeusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    16
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
260
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a very cozy, cabin-like B&B with stunning Appalachian views and great amenities (especially the Queen suite, which we stayed in). We came up for a weekend of autumn sightseeing on October 28, and got snowed in the next day. Betsy fixed us a breakfast despite the power going out for four hours. Both Betsy and the owner Crista went out of their way to make us feel comfortable for what turned out to be a day of what my girlfriend called "forced relaxation." Crista fixed us a great dinner, and Betsy fixed us lunch, so it turned into a B&B&L&D. Now the reason we were snowed in in the first place was because we did not have a 4-wheel drive vehicle. The road up to the B&B is a steep gravel road which requires a 4-wheel drive vehicle even in dry weather. So a 4-wheel drive with good tires is advised. The B&B is only about a five minute drive from downtown Luray. Crista was very welcoming and we sat around the dinner table after dinner talking about opera in Bavaria and other adventures. The two resident pooches, Willy and the aged but still-going Mr. Mack, were also good company. Highly recommended (with the proper vehicle).

Room Tip: Queen Suite. Not sure if the others have a jacuzzi or not. It was hard to get out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank satyr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I took a two day trip to Luray, VA on Oct. 6 & 7 to celebrate ouf 29th wedding anniversary. We went to Luray Caverns and Skyine Drive. We recommend Skyline drive but wait until closer to the end of October if you want to see the leaves in the peak season. Christa has a beautiful home and was a great host. We stayed two nights in the Sleeping Beauty Room. The best thing about our room was the bed. It was extremely comfortable and the sheets were very soft. Our only complaint was both nights we found at least half a dozen stink bugs on the curtains. If you dine at the Victorian Inn, make sure you eat before you go and take lots of money with. The meal was good but the menu is very limited and very expensive for the meal portions. We ate at Aritisin Grill and it was pretty good all around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Crista was an amazing host! She is a lovely person and her B&B was amazing. The views are spectacular, the room was very comfortable, the breakfasts were delicious. The weather was not the best while we were there, but that did not diminish our enjoyment -- just means we must go back again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10210Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at 'Once upon a Mountain' and we loved every minute! It is the perfect place to stay - very comfortable and in an idyllic setting. Christa is the perfect host and we could have not asked for anything more from either her or her beautiful home.
'Once upon a Mountain' is a great base for hiking in the Shenandoah National Park - walk all day and return to enjoy the accomodation (hammock, spa bath, hot tub, fire pit, deck and loungers!) in the evening. For lovely food, a visit to the Victoria Inn in Luray is a must.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My better half and I took a trip out to Luray from DC for a quick 24 hour recharge. Christine was so hospitable and had great recommendations for things to do. The property is as beautiful as it appears in the photos and we look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpniner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

My husband & I spent the weekend at Once Upon a Mountain and it couldn't have been more perfect. Christa, the owner, has everything right when it comes to running a bed & breakfast. The accommodations are comfortable, the food is delicious & you cannot beat the views. It's the perfect place to sit back with a glass of wine and a book and relax. We HIGHLY recommend Once Upon a Mountain and will return soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ves2Tr4veL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.9 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
963 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
2.7 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Property: Once Upon a Mountain
Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing