We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Extraordi...
1 review
“A lovely place.”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The lodge is lovely and extremely comfortable. We were three couples and each had plenty of space and privacy. We used it as a base to explore the surrounding area.and each day it was like coming home. The amenities were great and the weather was gorgeous which added to our enjoyment

Date of stay: October 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 24, 2016
Thank you for the wonderful review and please come visit again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
starsOxfo...
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best I've stayed in”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is the best villa or cabin I've stayed in all over USA and Europe. We'll run. Clean well thought out in a great location with a view of the mountains to die for. Excellent

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathy5632...
Antioch, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect rental for family and friends”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Beautiful house with beautiful mountain views. Perfect location for Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. Only downfall was the steep unpaved driveway but we managed.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2017
We're happy to report that the driveway has been paved! It was gravel which never caused any issues, but the paved surface is so much nicer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieB169...
Annandale, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cabin getaway”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved the Black Bear Lodge. There was lots of space in the 2 living areas, and plenty of room to sleep. The cabin included 2 foldaway beds to accommodate a third child in the twin bed room downstairs, which meant the grownups all had their own space. The view down the hill was amazing and we enjoyed the fire pit -- even in July. We will be back to get away from the DC area in a relatively short trip.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
15mattj
Cancun, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very nice place in a pretty location!”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for five nights in April and this is a great place! It's got a ton of space inside; we managed to get our baby to sleep downstairs while the rest of my family was upstairs and it worked out well for everyone. There is a supermarket right in Stanley which is very close and convenient also. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a ton of outdoor seating space as well.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terrig457
Yorktown, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Graduation Weekend”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our son graduated from JMU and we were lucky enough to find this beautiful mountain cabin to spend a few days and celebrate his accomplishments. Everything was perfect when we arrived. The house was immaculate and certainly ready for our arrival. We thoroughly enjoyed being at the house......the fire pit, the hot tub, the view.....we couldn't have asked for anywhere nicer to make such great memories. We went into Luray for lunch after graduation, which is about 10 minutes from the house. There was a winery about a mile away, which was a lot of fun the day after graduation. We will definitely be back. We could not have asked for a better weekend!!!! Jim and Lisa were just the best to work with!!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1celtic55
Shamokin, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything you could want and more~ Spectacular views-fully stocked with all your needs-roomy, yet cozy-clean and well maintained-this is the cabin to be in with family and friends!!! Lisa, the owner, makes sure you are fully pampered!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are just breath taking!!
Liked least: It was to cold to sit outside on the porch to enjoy the mountains and rolling countryside. Although, if it hadn't rained we could of made a fire in the fire pit and enjoyed that!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing