We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Luray)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
$190
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
198
6
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature trailladybug cabinshenandoah national parkred velvet cakebaked goodsbeautiful timberskyline drivemy husband and idelicious pastriesevening bonfirecompletely fell in loveowners liveperfect place to celebratequiet cabinstayed longerexploring the areapiece of heaven
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 206 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My extended family of 5 adults and 2 children (9 and 10) stayed one night at Shadow Mountain Escape after touring Washington DC. Our cozy cabin and the tranquil setting was perfect for unwinding after the busy pace of the city. The children (and adults) loved playing darts in the Cantina, climbing the winding stairs to the observation tower and sitting around the bonfire that Karen, the owner and manager, thoughtfully made for us. She even provided the marshmellows! My only regret is that our schedule allowed us just one night to spend at Shadow Mountain Escape. But that one night was a perfect end to our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WendyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

I recently took my fiancee to Shadow Mtn. Escape for her birthday. We stayed in the "butterfly loft". I cannot describe in words how amazing this trip was for us. The subtle quaintness of the cabins, the european influenced design and architecture, and the overwhelming beauty of the surrounding wilderness all amounted to a trip that was nothing less than pure relaxation. The thing that impressed us the most was the very personalized way in which Karen (owner / operator) helped us so tremendously in setting this whole thing up....with her correspondance and help, she really went above and beyond in making this a special weekend for us. I strongly recommend Shadow Mtn. Escape for anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway, and a special experience with their significant other. Thank you Karen!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

After 4 visits to Shadow Mountain Escape in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, we decided to finally share this secret vacation spot with fellow Europeans. We travel from Zurich, Switzerland to Virginia on a yearly basis - and no where in America have we felt more at home or have we been better received. We travel with our "Harley" and enjoy the ride and views in the Shenandoah National Park - the Timber Frame cabins are beautiful and unique in America - they are located next to the Shenandoah National park with endless hiking trails and a short drive from the legendary Shenandoah River. The owners Ralph and Karen will gladly help you coordinate your outing to get the best of the experience. Karen will spoil you with her home baked snacks and Ralph is happy to bring you fishing on the River - or at least give you fishing tips. The Butterfly loft offers a comfortable Queen size bedroom and great deck with nice views of the pond (Be sure to ask the owner's for some fish food). On every visit we have been impressed with the cleanliness, care and attention to detail. There is a local farm (Griffith Farm) within 2-3 miles from the cabin - be sure to try their fresh beef. There are many wonderful Virginia Wineries within a 30 minute - 1 hr drive. There is a BBQ grill near all the cabins. The Cantina was just added recently - it's a great room and will remind a German or Italian of home! It is conveniently located for short trips to the beaches of the mid-Atlantic coast, Washington DC., and numerous great shopping locations.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank Lupo-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Just returned from a weekend at Shadow Mountain Escape. It truly lives up to its name. Very private and relaxing, the "cabins" are really two condos inside one building, but because of the way they are built there are no adjoining walls, and you feel like you have the place to yourself. Even better than pictured on their website.

Our cabin, the Dragonfly, was very well appointed and spotlessly clean. Leather sofas and deck off the upstairs den were added bonuses. We were greeted warmly by Karen, the owner, and then left to enjoy the property and relax. We didn't participate in the evening bonfire, but it would be great for families. We did walk the short trail, and the deer appeared as if they were scheduled.

Two couples or a big family would have plenty of room here. It would also make a great rendevouz point for friends. Access to Shenandoah Nat'l Park and town of Luray is excellent. We'd recommend the Artisans Grill for lunch or a light dinner, and a Moment to Remember for cappuccino.

We will absolutely visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank RDfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

If you are seeking a quiet, secluded, scenic place to relax and chill out, you cannot do better than Shadow Mountain Escape. Karen & Ralph have created an environment which immediately makes you feel welcomed and at ease. The property, with an abundance of trees, nature trail, pond, and evening campfires offers a unique experience. We especially enjoyed sitting outside on the elevated deck of the Butterfly loft. The deck afforded a peaceful view of the night sky, as well as a great place to linger a little longer over the delicious basket of pastries with morning coffee on those early fall mornings. You should know that Karen is a blue-ribbon-winning baker then you will understand our delight when tasting the plum cake!

With so many interesting local activities, I appreciated Ralph’s recommendations on the nearby wineries, Luray dining, Shenandoah Forest hiking/driving, and the Caverns, even though there were plenty of detail brochures in the cabin.

I have traveled a fair amount and spent my share of nights in a variety hotels & lodges. Shadow Mountain Escape now ranks at the top of my list! I highly recommend it! I dare you to be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gsmith4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews