We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful getaway”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

WOW! We are so thankful to have stumbled across SME when doing some online research for a little getaway for our one year anniversary. Our stay was fantastic, and exceeded both our expectations! Everything in the Butterfly loft was perfect - the cookies, the wine, the privacy, the bed (so comfy), and the amazing surroundings! AND thanks for the anniversary cake, what a wonderful surprise. Our only regret is that we didn't make reservations for a longer stay. We will be returning soon, and again and again, to experience everything SME & the area has to offer.

P.S. We loved all the butterflies flocking to your flowers + butterfly baskets!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haley21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
136
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

First, let me say that if you're looking for a lot of traffic, noisy crowds, chaos or an overcrowded hotel than this is NOT the place for you. Here's what to expect. We traveled with our two kids ages 5 and 11 and they didn't want to leave. When we arrived we were greeted by Karen, the owner along with her husband Ralph, with a big smile and more than happy to answer any of our questions. There was a bottle of wine, cookies and brownies waiting for us. I emailed Karen and told her that my son had food allergies and couldn’t eat cookies so she had some wild raspberries and apples waiting for us as well! You can’t put a price tag on that kind of hospitality. She pointed out everything we needed to know from using the satellite TV to where to find wild raspberries along the nature trail surrounding the property. We stayed in the Dragon Fly which is basically a large house divided in two. The other half being the Bumblebee. I can't say too much about the Bumblebee but the Dragon Fly easily accommodated us four and could have slept up to 8 people if they didn't mind roll-a-way beds. There are two queen size beds and one twin bed w a trundle along with two roll-a-ways. We didn't even touch the one queen bed since our kids used the trundle bed upstairs and the wife and I used the queen downstairs. You walk into a common foyer shared by both units which can use the observation loft upstairs on the third floor. It was a bit hot up there but that's to be expected when it was 95 outside! There is also a shared washer/dryer in the foyer area too. In the basement is the Cantina. Basically it is a large gathering room for several people. Equipped with a dart board, CD player, bar and two large tables. Great place to hang out with family or friends and superbly decorated in European charm. Our unit- First floor has a spacious eating area with a full kitchen with a stove/oven, coffee maker (coffee included), microwave, and full size refrigerator. All plates, pots and utensils are already there. Even the dish soap was included. There was a TV and DVD player with a few movies already there. The master bedroom was a queen and very comfortable. Nicely furnished and had plenty of lighting everywhere. The bathroom had a full tub/shower and all the towels (plenty of them) included. The upstairs had another TV in a sitting area along with the trundle bed in the back of the room. The second bedroom is also upstairs. There is also a small deck outside the sitting area for just relaxing and sipping your coffee admiring the forest around you. As far as the grounds there is a small nature trail to walk. It leads you around the property where you’ll find plenty of raspberries, a small stream and a pond where you can feed the fish. I know this review is long but if you’re still reading than this place is probably for you. Its located deep in the woods surrounded by nature, it’s quiet, relaxing and only a ten minute drive from the town of Luray, wineries, caverns and restaurants. There is a small charcoal grill there if you want to grill too. Here are just a few things to be prepared for. I wouldn’t call them negatives, just FYI’s. Don’t use your GPS (I did and got lost). Follow Karen’s directions and just look for the mailbox. There is no big sign or anything like that. Cell phones will probably not work in the area around the property. In my opinion, it was a plus not hearing our phones beep or vibrate every 2 seconds! I have AT&T and couldn’t get service until we got a few miles closer to town. The other thing to be prepared for is the bugs. Obviously you are in the woods and it was hot and humid the days we went so the bugs were horrific. At night up on the deck surprisingly the bugs didn’t bother us. But have plenty of bug repellent if you plan a walk in the woods or do other hikes in the area. As far as one of the other reviews this is not what I would call a five star resort. Don’t expect super luxurious sheets or bedding or caviar waiting. But it is definitely as good as 4 star hotel and even at some five star hotels (which I have stayed at) you won’t get this kind of personal service and warm southern hospitality. Just ask and they will accommodate as best as they can. Well, that’s about it. There’s more I could probably talk about so email me if you have any specific questions. Enjoy your stay! John

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Enterprise_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

This was our family's third trip here and it just gets better. We drove 14 hours to meet extended family for our third reunion here. This place is the ultimate set up for group gatherings, yet it would work well for small families or couples too. For groups there is lots of space to gather together or retreat by yourself for some privacy. The decor is completely charming and the large property is clean and well maintained. The cabins are well equipped, we had everything we needed for our group of 15. From 1 to 70 we all had a great time! The owners are very gracious, if you need them they are available but leave you with as much privacy as you need.
The location is ideal, there is lots to do in the area that is just a few minutes away. We hiked, fished, kayaked, rode horseback, went sight seeing, and still don't feel like we've done it all.

After one bad experience we were cautious about trying something we found on the internet, but this place exceeded our hopes enough to bring us back. We would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed at SME for two nights. One night in the Dragonfly and one in Bumblebee.
Both are well equipped ,so much so we decided to eat in both nights!
The location is great for exploring the area, and nice and peaceful after a day of exploring.The lack of internet and cell service did'nt bother us at all ,after all it is a get-away!
Karen and Ralph are very accommodating and provided us with the a perfect weekend retreat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My two sisters and I recently stayed at the Shadow Mountain Escape and let me just say that it was an absolute dream! I corresponded with Karen and she was such a sweetheart and made sure every little detail was perfect and she answered any questions I had promptly and courteously. First off, the location of the cabins couldn’t be better; the area is extremely peaceful and serene, not to mention, beautiful! It only took us two hours to get here from Washington D.C so it is perfect for a quick weekend escape from the city. Unfortunately, we could only stay for one night but as soon as my sisters and I arrived, we were wishing that we could stay an entire week! The cabin is decorated beautifully and has every little thing you could ask for. There was a basket of delicious goodies waiting for us when we entered the cabin, along with a wonderful bottle of wine. We BBQ’d that night which was made a lot easier with all the tools that were provided for our convenience. There was also a campfire prepared for us; all we had to do was light a match! We roasted marshmallows that had been left for us along with the other goodies. There was also the friendliest cat ever who wandered the property and greeted us whenever we walked outside. We had a lot of fun exploring around the property, walking around the woods and exploring the different parts of the cabin. All in all, it was a fantastic trip and we are planning on several trips back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tegcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

As everyone else has said, the cabins are a delightfully different construction, though very comfortable and stocked with everything you need, including homemade goodies. Karen was very friendly, though we rarely saw her (and no one else) during our stay. While you're a minute's drive from the highway, you'd never know that there was anyone else within fifty miles. It's so quiet that the creaking and cracking of the Butterfly Cabin beams woke us up several times (we were there during wide temperature swings). There's a nice nature walk around the property, a little pond where you can feed the fish with provided food, and Felix the cat is extremely friendly. We were there for a romantic anniversary, but I imagine kids would love the place. And it's extremely convenient to Skyline Drive and the AT, Old Rag, and plenty of other hiking/outdoor activities.

A couple things that may not be entirely clear from the website: As one reviewer noted, they don't take credit cards, just cash and checks, so plan ahead. Also, there is no Internet access or cell phone coverage (though there is satellite TV). We got cell phone reception by driving two minutes up the mountain, and it's obviously good in the town of Luray about 7 minutes away; and there's a land line that rings in all three cabins that you can give out if someone needs to get hold of you quickly. These things weren't a problem for us at all, as our whole intent in booking at SME was to get away from it all and have a romantic little oasis in nature, but be aware if this is critical for you.

A final note: they're very veteran friendly, which we liked as well. (Congrats on your pending retirement, Ralph.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This cabin was absolutely divine. Very clean, homey, spacious, comfortable, romantic, and beautiful just to name a few. We had a fabulous time. Owner, Karen, makes it extra special remember every little details of a home away from home. The quiet and peaceful cannot be described. We cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsmith2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
975 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
41 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
4.2 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing