We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

We stayed at SME for two nights. One night in the Dragonfly and one in Bumblebee.
Both are well equipped ,so much so we decided to eat in both nights!
The location is great for exploring the area, and nice and peaceful after a day of exploring.The lack of internet and cell service did'nt bother us at all ,after all it is a get-away!
Karen and Ralph are very accommodating and provided us with the a perfect weekend retreat.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SVtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

My two sisters and I recently stayed at the Shadow Mountain Escape and let me just say that it was an absolute dream! I corresponded with Karen and she was such a sweetheart and made sure every little detail was perfect and she answered any questions I had promptly and courteously. First off, the location of the cabins couldn’t be better; the area is extremely peaceful and serene, not to mention, beautiful! It only took us two hours to get here from Washington D.C so it is perfect for a quick weekend escape from the city. Unfortunately, we could only stay for one night but as soon as my sisters and I arrived, we were wishing that we could stay an entire week! The cabin is decorated beautifully and has every little thing you could ask for. There was a basket of delicious goodies waiting for us when we entered the cabin, along with a wonderful bottle of wine. We BBQ’d that night which was made a lot easier with all the tools that were provided for our convenience. There was also a campfire prepared for us; all we had to do was light a match! We roasted marshmallows that had been left for us along with the other goodies. There was also the friendliest cat ever who wandered the property and greeted us whenever we walked outside. We had a lot of fun exploring around the property, walking around the woods and exploring the different parts of the cabin. All in all, it was a fantastic trip and we are planning on several trips back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tegcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

As everyone else has said, the cabins are a delightfully different construction, though very comfortable and stocked with everything you need, including homemade goodies. Karen was very friendly, though we rarely saw her (and no one else) during our stay. While you're a minute's drive from the highway, you'd never know that there was anyone else within fifty miles. It's so quiet that the creaking and cracking of the Butterfly Cabin beams woke us up several times (we were there during wide temperature swings). There's a nice nature walk around the property, a little pond where you can feed the fish with provided food, and Felix the cat is extremely friendly. We were there for a romantic anniversary, but I imagine kids would love the place. And it's extremely convenient to Skyline Drive and the AT, Old Rag, and plenty of other hiking/outdoor activities.

A couple things that may not be entirely clear from the website: As one reviewer noted, they don't take credit cards, just cash and checks, so plan ahead. Also, there is no Internet access or cell phone coverage (though there is satellite TV). We got cell phone reception by driving two minutes up the mountain, and it's obviously good in the town of Luray about 7 minutes away; and there's a land line that rings in all three cabins that you can give out if someone needs to get hold of you quickly. These things weren't a problem for us at all, as our whole intent in booking at SME was to get away from it all and have a romantic little oasis in nature, but be aware if this is critical for you.

A final note: they're very veteran friendly, which we liked as well. (Congrats on your pending retirement, Ralph.)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

This cabin was absolutely divine. Very clean, homey, spacious, comfortable, romantic, and beautiful just to name a few. We had a fabulous time. Owner, Karen, makes it extra special remember every little details of a home away from home. The quiet and peaceful cannot be described. We cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsmith2282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My fiance and I went back for our 2nd Valentines Day together at Shadow Mountain Escape. From the minute you get there you are at ease. Karen and Ralph are ideal hosts who go out of their way to make your trip something you will always remember! We were greeted with homemade goodies and wine and were given homemade soap on our way out. It's a perfect get away and close to so many things! Wisteria winery is close and the wine is amazing. I'm definitely going back! SME is affordable, easy to get to, gorgeous, and so much fun:) Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pocahontas7256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed in the "Bumble Bee" cabin at Shadow Mountain Escape for three nights for a mini-vacation. We chose Bumble Bee because of the large stone fireplace it features and were eager to use it during the cold days and nights! It was well worth it to get the fireplace! With the snow as a backdrop, sitting in front of the fire was a perfect relaxing escape.

The cabin was delightfully decorated and had all of the amenities we could have wanted. The kitchen was well equipped and made it so we didn't have to go out for every meal. Karen's basket of goodies waiting when we arrived was a treat and she even dropped off cocoa and marshmallows for us to enjoy later in our visit!

There were two reasons I didn't give SME 5 stars: The first (that I didn't notice anyone else mention) is that they do not take credit cards. You have to pay either cash or check. As someone who travels a lot, that is an inconvenience. The second reason is that the layout of Bumble Bee could be better. The only bathroom that Bumble Bee has is off of the kitchen, and the bedroom is upstairs. So to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night meant walking down the stairs in the dark through the entire cabin. In addition, the sitting room where the fireplace is was quite small-the sofa didn't even sit across from the fireplace-it was perpendicular to it. The cabin was just built several years ago, so it seemed like the layout could have been planned better when the cabin was built.

Overall, we had a wonderful visit and with our love of the outdoors, look forward to the time when we can return to Shadow Mountain Escape for another relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEI2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our favorite mountain "Escape!" My family has been visiting SME since 2003 and return every year at least once! Luray is a unique little town and so fun to shop in the antique and craft shops. "Bucks" has the best food and don't go home without trying one of their famous burgers! Then back to serenity (SME)! My boy's are outside from sunup to sundown exploring the woods, spotting the wildlife such as deer, fishing in the pond, and hiking and playing in the creeks. They never want to leave when it's time to go! The owner's Karen and Ralph make you feel like family and are very hospitable. We will return!!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenandoah_Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing