We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Such a quiet and beautiful property. The cabin was clean and warm, just like we walked into our own home. From the welcome into our cabin, feeding the fish, and the coolest cat.. We LOVED every moment there. The beauty of the fireflies and wild life were amazing. Thank you Karen and Ralph for making our honeymoon unforgetable.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank kirkandmoni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Shadow Mountain Escape
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 193 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

The host of this property (Karen) is one of the most pleasant people I have talked to....she is exceptional. As far as the property goes - we stayed in the butterfly loft and were underwhelmed......the room was slightly musty and an annoying perfumed cleaner had been used to mask the smell. The sofa bed was terrible and the queen bed was just OK. I guess for $200 and night we expected more. Having traveled all over Europe I can say there are much better properties in Europe and a previous reviewer's comments misled us into booking this one!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pulitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

. Please add us to your group of “happy campers” Everything far exceeded our expectations for our family reunion. Your facilities easily accommodated our group of 15, ages 1 to 72. It was nice that the lodge offered us the perfect blend of individual privacy and common areas for gatherings.

The timber framed lodges were beautiful, clean, exquisitely appointed and offered us everything we needed for a relaxing retreat. Every time we asked ourselves, “I wonder if they have ( )?”, we shortly found it. The grounds, from the nature trail to the fish pond, were a delight You obviously put a lot of thought and love into providing an atmosphere where, all your guests have to do is simply relax and enjoy themselves.

Lastly we wish to thank our hosts Karen & Ralph for their gracious reception. You were there for us when we needed you and had the good sense to leave us alone when we did not.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank Grahamboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

Our family (2 adults, 3 teenagers -- 2 of which came with us) lives in a timberframe house in Ohio, so Shadow Mountain's unique luxury cabins felt like home away from home for us. Everything was easy and comfortable, including our initial booking (I e-mailed Karen through her website and received a reply minutes later). We stayed in the Dragonfly, which is 1/2 of the large lodge structure. Another couple was in the other half of the cabin, but it wasn't noisy or awkward. We only saw them if we happened to come and go at the same time. The Dragonfly is listed as sleeping 4-6, but we could have brought more than that. My husband and I slept in the downstairs bedroom (next to the 1 bathroom), our son took the upstairs bedroom (which could sleep 2), and my daughter slept on the daybed off the living area upstairs. There was also a fold-out bed in the linen closet by the daybed, and the leather couch pulled out to a double bed. Eight people could fit comfortably in this cabin as long as they don't mind being cozy when it comes to sleeping arrangements and bathroom logistics. We were greeted with a basket of homemade treats (jam, chocolate chip cookies, banana bread, and M&Ms) and we found coffee, creamer, filters, and many other items we forgot in the kitchen cupboards. Then next morning, we ran into Ralph as we were leaving for the park and he gave us directions to the nearest grocery store so we could pack a picnic. Luray is a 10-minute drive and very accessible; it's a charming town with lots of little restaurants and shops. There's a Jewell Mountain Hollow access road (not on maps, Mapquest, or GPS, but it's there!) that took us directly to Rt. 211 and the park entrance. We had a great time exploring the park, the various towns and villages of the Shenandoah Valley, the caverns, and nearby battlefields. This is a great trip for a long weekend, and we recommend it to anyone who needs a getaway to a very out of the way place that still offers the comforts of home (hot showers, satellite TV, etc.) Ralph and Karen are warm, welcoming hosts, and they'll make your stay a delight. The setting is pristine, and you don't even have to leave Shadow Mountain to explore nature trails. There's also an upstairs sitting room and a basement cantina that's shared by both lodge cabins, so if it rains you can still hang out and play darts, monopoly, or whatever. (Two very minor issues: to play a DVD, you have to unhook the satellite and hook up the DVD player, and it's kind of awkward to get behind the TV. We made our son do it. Also, we had to make our beds when we first arrived; at first I thought this was odd, but then I realized it's the only way to know the linens have been changed from the last visitor, so it's actually a good idea.)

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

I saw these cabins almost by accident on the internet, but "wow"! What a find!

I was hoping to find a nice place to take my bride on our honeymoon, but this cabin went far beyond any expectations! It was absolutely perfect and the treats they left us were so delicious!

What an incredible get-a-way for us both, & their friendliness & hospitality were wonderful.. We will certainly be back for anniversaries & will tell our friends and families about this place!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrGoliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Thank you for making our first vacation as a "family of four" such a memorable experience. The Dragon Fly accommodated our toddler and baby perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed everything: the nature trail, feeding the fish, grilling out, the delicious cookies and superb wine provided by the hosts, the bonfire and marshmallows, the darts in the European style Cantina and the amazing views from the Observation Tower.

Our three night stay at Shadow Mt. Escape exceeded our expectations and we would love to return next year. The property is perfectly located...down the road is the town of Luray for groceries and the caverns, and just up the road is Skyline drive for hiking and gorgeous vistas. The owners/hosts even honored our service in the Navy with a discount off our stay. I would and have highly recommended Shadow Mountain Escape to my friends and family. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Love2HikeMts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Our family of 4 (includes 2 teenagers) stayed at Shadow Mountain Escape while visiting Shenandoah National Park. The property was an easy drive to the Park entrance. We stayed in the "Bumblebee Cabin, which featured multiple sleeping areas, a full kitchen, and had all modern amenities. There was even a "Cantina" in the basement (shared with the other cabin in our building) featuring Darts, CD's/music, and tables for eating or playing cards/games.
We enjoyed our 3 days at SME! We came to hike in the National Park and really didn't expect to pay much attention to the accommodations....but what a surprise! It was more like staying at a friend's house than it was a hotel. Karen - the "inn keeper" made you feel right at home. The things we liked best:
*Homemade brownies
*Homemade cookies + banana bread
*Homemade jam
*Picking fresh berries outside our room for breakfast
*roasting marshmallows at the campfire
*playing CD's and darts in the Cantina (while enjoying a "cold one")
*sitting on the balcony drinking morning coffee
*feeding the fish in the pond
*having a nice Weber grill for cooking our dinner and finding all the "odds + ends" in the kitchen that we hadn't thought to bring (i.e. salt/pepper/spices)
*air-conditioning comfort after a full day of hiking in hot-humid weather
*great tasting mountain water

The cost was very reasonable for what you got........probably half the cost of staying at one of the Nation Park Cabins, but ten times better!

It's hard to believe that we spent nearly all day each day hiking through the Shenandoah National Park and still had time to make the most of the treats and activities at SME! They were great hosts, and we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OutdoorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
994 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
50 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
135 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range: $165 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing