We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, beautiful and peaceful!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shadow Mountain Escape
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Villahermosa
2 reviews
“Amazing, beautiful and peaceful!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This magical place really exceeded our expectations - every little detail is amazing and one can feel the love and devotion they have poured into the cabins to make people feel welcomed and happy. We loved everything about this place! We are leaving replenished and relaxed and with the wish to return some other time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariae25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
131
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
298 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you are lucky enough to stay here you are to consider yourself lucky enough!! It was relaxing, beautful, luxurious and perfect for our wedding anniversary. Karen and Ralph are awesome and their dog Lola is precious. So quiet it was hard for us city folks to sleep the first night!! We would recommend to anyone and we hope to be back someday for another special visit. Love love love the "cabin!" which is a silly word for such an incredible place! Much more than a cabin! We enjoyed all the partners on the "whiskey wine loop" and had a lot of fun hiking in the national forest on skyline drive. Great time all around.

Room Tip: We chose the Bumblebee cabin which had lots of room to read (two decks and three seating areas, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lab12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful location and comfortable, high quality accommodation.
The experience reminded me of a stay at Fugitives Drift Lodge. The site has been carefully and thoughtfully laid out and the owners were extremely helpful and welcoming. Shadow Mountain Escape's position is ideally suited for exploring the local attractions and giving you a real feel for the Shenandoah National Park. To sum up - classy, very well organised, comfortable and efficiently run, not forgetting, Karen's cookies really are delicious.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Karen and Ralph have carved out a piece of paradise in the Shenandoah Mountains! Their cabins are beautifully furnished with every last detail carefully attended to. Karen drops off homemade baked goods outside the room on some mornings and there were goodies waiting for us when we first arrived. They have wonderful recommendations on where to eat in the area and some fun things to do. They also provide books on the best hikes and scenic drives. We loved the campfire and roasting marshmallows with other couples. You will love it here!

Room Tip: We loved the dragonfly room. The cantina downstairs is so cool, don't forget to check it out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great time. Everything was clean , owners are very helpful. Nature on the property is amazing. Baby deer are all over the place. Got the best animal photos I ever took. Close to the park and a cute little town. Wine n whiskey tours were fantastic. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lendebotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I wouldn't want to keep SME a "secret" from anyone... if you are planning a visit to the Shenandoah National Park, this is the place to stay. Convenient both to the town of Luray and the entrance to the park. The property is off the access road - be sure you follow Karen and Ralph's directions - not your GPS! And once you've turned onto their dirt drive, you'll know that you're home! We stayed in the Ladybug and were so impressed with the cabin, the craftsmanship, the loving care that was used to create this property. We were off early each day and enjoyed our hikes, the Luray Caverns, and visiting several of the TA rated restaurants... our favorite was actually on the other side of the park - in Sperryville - the Thornton River Grill... a must eat!

So - enjoy this secret place - and say hello to Karen and Ralph (and Lola, too!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Absolutely amazing place and awesome people. Great scenery and close to all sorts of adventures, a definite must-stay! Very clean, spacious, and stunning views. The property and cabins are immaculate!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ev d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
6.2 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
935 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
31 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
130 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shadow Mountain Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Mountain Escape

Property: Shadow Mountain Escape
Address: 1132 Jewell Hollow Rd, (bordering the Shenandoah National Park), Luray, VA 22835-5710
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia's "Simply Charming" authentic timber frame cabins bordering the Shenandoah National Park - Luray, VA. A truly unique romantic couple's escape conveniently located in a woodland park setting on the "Blue Ridge Whisky Wine Loop"... only a few minutes from the Shenandoah National Park entrance, Luray Caverns, Lake Arrowhead and a wide variety of other attractions. Discover the ambiance of a rare timber frame tastefully arranged with quality furnishing including antiques and European décor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shadow Mountain Escape Hotel Luray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing