We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
199
6
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnature trailladybug cabinbear danceshenandoah national parkred velvet cakebaked goodsbeautiful timberskyline drivemy husband and idelicious pastriesevening bonfirecompletely fell in loveowners liveperfect place to celebratequiet cabinstayed longerexploring the area
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 207 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Shadow Mountain Escape is the place to go! We have never seen such a beautiful cabin with European flair. The host Ralph and hostess Karen are truly the most wonderful people we have ever met. The hospitality we received was amazing... The welcome we received was the biggest surprise with homemade jams and jellies and baked breads and cookies!!! Too many treats to mention, you have to go and stay there..... We are a family of five and we rented the Bear Dance Lodge, consisting of The Bumble Bee and The Dragonfly... The cabins are separate and private, yet if you rent the entire lodge you can leave both doors open, and its like living in a huge house!!!! There are two outer doors which you lock and you have such privacy. We loved being fortunate to rent the entire lodge, and when we go back we will do it again. The timber frame home is just pristine, along with the furnishings and the Cantina, and observation tower. there aren't enough words to compliment SME!!!!! The observation tower is high up and it overlooks the property and the view is spectacular! At night you can touch the stars from up there!!! A sight you must see for yourself...
If you want privacy and need an escape please make sure your next stay is at Shadow Mountain Escape. The name says it all.
Our son had a birthday while we stayed at SME, and when we returned from driving around Luray, we had surprises waiting for us. The Cantina was decorated with ballons and hats and party horns and last but not least "an awesome birthday cake" with candles!!! Karen doesn't miss a thing ever!!!! There is much to see in Luray a great town. We went during the fair and had tons of fun. But when the fair was over we returned to Shadow Mountain Escape for peace and quiet.. Thank you Shadow Mountain Escape and thank you Karen and Ralph, we love ya and we'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank denro1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

We spent only one night at Shadow Mountain Escape and wish it could have been more! To classify this place as a cabin does it an injustice. These are beautiful timber frame homes!

Karen does a fantastic job in taking care of the property and providing special little touches for her guests that you don't normally find in a cabin rental.

You feel like you are really out in the wilderness but with all the amenities, yet only a few miles from town.

There were half a dozen deer in the yard and even a bear came though. It rained the night we were there. We left our patio door open a bit so we could hear the rain coming down. It was pure heaven.

We loved our little one night get away in the mountains. Thanks Karen!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2007

My extended family of 5 adults and 2 children (9 and 10) stayed one night at Shadow Mountain Escape after touring Washington DC. Our cozy cabin and the tranquil setting was perfect for unwinding after the busy pace of the city. The children (and adults) loved playing darts in the Cantina, climbing the winding stairs to the observation tower and sitting around the bonfire that Karen, the owner and manager, thoughtfully made for us. She even provided the marshmellows! My only regret is that our schedule allowed us just one night to spend at Shadow Mountain Escape. But that one night was a perfect end to our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WendyTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2007

I recently took my fiancee to Shadow Mtn. Escape for her birthday. We stayed in the "butterfly loft". I cannot describe in words how amazing this trip was for us. The subtle quaintness of the cabins, the european influenced design and architecture, and the overwhelming beauty of the surrounding wilderness all amounted to a trip that was nothing less than pure relaxation. The thing that impressed us the most was the very personalized way in which Karen (owner / operator) helped us so tremendously in setting this whole thing up....with her correspondance and help, she really went above and beyond in making this a special weekend for us. I strongly recommend Shadow Mtn. Escape for anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic getaway, and a special experience with their significant other. Thank you Karen!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank WHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2006

After 4 visits to Shadow Mountain Escape in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, we decided to finally share this secret vacation spot with fellow Europeans. We travel from Zurich, Switzerland to Virginia on a yearly basis - and no where in America have we felt more at home or have we been better received. We travel with our "Harley" and enjoy the ride and views in the Shenandoah National Park - the Timber Frame cabins are beautiful and unique in America - they are located next to the Shenandoah National park with endless hiking trails and a short drive from the legendary Shenandoah River. The owners Ralph and Karen will gladly help you coordinate your outing to get the best of the experience. Karen will spoil you with her home baked snacks and Ralph is happy to bring you fishing on the River - or at least give you fishing tips. The Butterfly loft offers a comfortable Queen size bedroom and great deck with nice views of the pond (Be sure to ask the owner's for some fish food). On every visit we have been impressed with the cleanliness, care and attention to detail. There is a local farm (Griffith Farm) within 2-3 miles from the cabin - be sure to try their fresh beef. There are many wonderful Virginia Wineries within a 30 minute - 1 hr drive. There is a BBQ grill near all the cabins. The Cantina was just added recently - it's a great room and will remind a German or Italian of home! It is conveniently located for short trips to the beaches of the mid-Atlantic coast, Washington DC., and numerous great shopping locations.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank Lupo-Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews