We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful time of year and great cabin...only...”
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
41 reviews
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub
Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Living room with sofa bed
Brand new fully equipped kitchen
Solid rustic dining room furniture
King size master bed
Master bath vanity
Master bath jacuzzi tub
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
Satellite HDTV/DVDs in all rooms
2nd bathroom
2nd bathroom
Stone firepit with unlimited wood provided free
Full free laundry facilities provided
Two canoes and accessories provided
The beautiful Shenandoah River (you cannot see the river from the house)
Lovely grassy riverbank
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Saydi82
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful time of year and great cabin...only wish it was closer to riverfront”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The cabin was perfect for the four of us (two couples). Everything we needed was there (and then some!) Nothing bad to say about the cabin except two minor things - wish the closer, outdoor firepit was directly in back of the house for more privacy (it was in the front yard next to the road), and wish the cabin was closer to the riverfront. From the pictures online it was hard to tell how far/close it was from the river; I thought it was in the backyard from one pictures I saw and was looking forward to just viewing it from the deck. However, it is a short 100 yard (?) walk down a path thru some trees and a grassy area. The river view is amazing though once you get there. In the summer it would a fantastic place to hang out (there is a fire pit there as well). Also, we weren't sure, if we started canoeing down the river how we would get back so we didn't use the canoes (the current looked pretty strong to come upstream). Given that the property was away from riverfront, and pretty close to other properties/neighbors (its not 'secluded'), I feel it was a bit overpriced ($300+/night).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room
Liked least: distance to riverfront/absence of river view from deck
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbie h
Mechanicsville, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a really nice cabin”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay at this very cute cabin in Luray. The information said riverfront and had a picture but didnt mention that it was about a quarter mile down a little road to the back of the property. It was a good location for things to do in Luray and had wonderful amenities but I just wish the neighbors werent so close next door. I really wanted peace and quiet and sometimes they had music going. This is a great place to stay but just dont expect riverfront or wilderness.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vaRN10
vaRN10
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful weekend away”
Reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed at Bear Timbers for a weekend - it was really, really wonderful. The cabin was clean and had all the amentities you could want. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans, and we loved relaxing in the hottub, enjoying the stars! The management company was very responsive (even on a saturday evening) to an issue we were having with the hot tub - very easily resolved.
We drove to a nearby winery for a tasting one afternoon, and also walked down to the Shenandoah to appreciate the views. It was so nice to have such a huge collection of movies to watch, except that a few were too scratched to play properly.
It was a quick and easy trip, but we felt so far from the stresses of every day life! Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely return!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cleanliness of the cabin and amenties
Liked least: Wish there were more pots/pans, cooking utensils
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amwalther
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Cardigan Cabins does it again!”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is the second time we have stayed in a cardigan cabin and we were even more impressed as last time (Bear Valley). Bear Timber's high ceilings, open kitchen and layout provided exactly the environment we were hoping for to cook, relax and celebrate our anniversary. We will definitely be looking to come back to perhaps a bigger house with friends this Spring/Summer to enjoy Lurray in warmer weather! We also took some photos to add to air bnb as we felt it was so much more beautiful in person than online. Finally, thank you so much for leaving such extensive directions in the welcome binder - they really helped out and were informative.

Only two things went wrong, but were quickly fixed. First the fireplace would not start when we arrived, we immediately called the back up emergency number and were instructed that the switch below the fireplace connected to the batteries needed to be turned 'on'. Suggest this is included in the welcome packet directions for the fireplace. Second, I think the binder is missing the hot tub page. We used the hot tub on Saturday night, but when we went to go use it Sunday morning it was off and cold. We again called the emergency number and were instructed to turn the circuit breaker on. About two hours later the tub was hot again and ready for use, but as soon as we got in the fuse blew again and we couldnt get it to restart. Recommend looking into fixing this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub and fireplace
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajwinder...
1 review
“An absolutely perfect cabin getaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We picked the Bear Timbers Cabin for a romantic getaway and it was beyond perfect. The place looks even better than the pictures. It's cozy, clean, nicely decorated, and so comfortable. We had everything we needed. We enjoyed sitting in the hot tub at night and being able to stare at the beautiful stars. The walk to the Shenandoah river is only about 3-5 minutes and while we did not get into the river (we went in February), it was still nice to walk alongside the river and to be in nature. We loved the feel of the place so much that we are hoping to make this a yearly trip/ yearly getaway spot. We enjoyed Bear Timbers in the winter and cannot imagine how absolutely amazing it must be in the summer. We look forward to returning to this place with friends in the summer and again as a couple sometime in the winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PennyW63
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last minute gem!”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

On Saturday morning, we decided to try to get away for a few days as the kids did not have school on Mon/Tues. We ended up booking Bear Timbers Cabin within 24 hours of our arrival on Sunday. The owner was quick to respond and the reservation was made with ease.

We arrived Sunday afternoon and found everything exactly as described on the Internet. My 14-year-old daughter and 17-year-old son took off in one of the canoes soon after we got there. We had a fire both nights in the fire pit and enjoyed spending a little time away from the world for a little bit. The hot tub was perfect for our 50-60 degree weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property backs up to the river - it's a very short walk to the river bank.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing