We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Weekend trip

Worth the hike, one of the best trails for a view that's not to hard of a hike to do. It is a... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Sightsee824134
via mobile
Amazing view

Nice short hike with a big reward at the end! The view is fantastic..be careful at the lookout... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
RachJ129
via mobile
Read all 385 reviews
  
Reviews (385)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveler rating
305
70
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
305
70
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews skyline drive shenandoah national park skyland resort awesome views trail head marked trail worth the climb mile marker nature trail black beans year olds summit skylark peak cliffs outcropping viewpoint
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Worth the hike, one of the best trails for a view that's not to hard of a hike to do. It is a beautiful sunset hike to do.

Thank Sightsee824134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice short hike with a big reward at the end! The view is fantastic..be careful at the lookout, steep and rocky.

Thank RachJ129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing views to the west (Shenandoah Valley) and back along the spine of the park. And with just a short walk to get there. Well worth making a stop and stretching the legs.

Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

One of the shortest but rewarding hikes in the park. Very gradual assent to a rock outcrop with a western looking view of the valley and the Allegheny Mountains. If you don’t mind a little longer and a bit more modest summit hike, try Bearfence that has a 360 view from the summit.

1  Thank GerryZ_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

This is a nice easy hike with a breathtaking view at the end! We were able to see the 'smoke' come rolling in. The hike only took about 45 minutes total to walk there and back. Stop for a picture on the Appalachian Trail! This is the easiest hike I've ever done with the best results!

3  Thank 748ANDREAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

The Stony Man Hike is well worth your time. It is a short, easy hike with beautiful views at the summit. We entered the park at the Thornton Gap entrance and took Skyline Drive south. Park in the lot at mile marker 41.7 near the Skyland Resort. The lot is near the sign indicating the Highest Point on Drive. We hiked around 6:30 PM on 9/5/18 and would have stayed at the summit for sunset, but we didn't want to hike back in the dark given the warning signs about bears in the area. The trail is well-marked in blue, and at points you will see some white markers where it joins with the Appalachian Trail. It was quite enjoyable.

2  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We live in Charlottesville and grown fond of running up to the Park for a short hike or two. We had not been to Skyland, so that was our focus. Since this was Labor Day weekend, it was quite busy. We decided the crowds were too much at Dark Hollow Falls, near Big Meadow, so we continued on to Stony Man. We parked in the Stone Man lot and enjoyed the hike. After a bit of walking, you will come to the loop... you can go left or right to the summit. We took the loop right, and I recommend that. It has more firm footing than the return loop. From the summit, we stayed right, and we came onto a spot that we could go right (straight), or more left. Veering down left will take you back to the Stony Man parking lot. It was a nice sort hike that provided just the right amount of enhanced heart rate :-) .

4  Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We did this hike with young children (6 and 9) and it was easy for all. Great and worthwhile view from the top.

2  Thank Petercr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

The Stony Man Hike is an easy hike with slight to moderate inclines and a well marked trail that is very easy to follow. Part of this trail is actually on the AT so you'll be following the famous white blazes for a while. For the Stony Man trail you'll want to follow the blue blazes as you split off from the AT. The Stony Man trail also has wooden numbered sign posts as part of a self guided nature trial. You can pick up a guide map at the trail head in a box for a $1 donation. This trail does have a few intersection but everything is so well marked it's near impossible to get lost.

With that said -- the mile marker 39.1 on the above TripAdvisor header is actually for "Little Stony Man Parking". You can still hike to "Stony Man" from there after you get to Little Stony Man but this is a longer hike, 2.9 miles vs 1.6 miles, and I've read that the trail to Little Stony Man is fairly steep thus making the hike more difficult. Little Stony Man Parking looks more like a turn-out on the side of the road that only holds maybe 6 cars.

Instead, you should park at "Stony Man Parking" past mile marker (approx) 41.7 right after you turn onto Skyland Upper Loop Road towards the Skyland Resort. This is a large proper parking lot where the trail head map board is located and where you can pick up the nature guide map mentioned above.

When we hiked the trail (8/20/18), thick fog and clouds had blanketed the entire mountain which made for a very unique experience (at least for us) -- it seemed like we where hiking through the clouds. Stony Man Cliff was in complete white out conditions adding to the illusion of walking on clouds. However driving in these conditions were... let's just say -- sub-optimal -- but we survived to tell the tale.

2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

After a much longer hike the day before, we wanted a shorter, easier one for our last day. Since this one is right next to Skyland where we we're staying, it was perfect. In short, it is easy to find the trail head, there was ample parking (at 10am), and it was a pretty easy hike up to the best view I have seen yet in the park. All in all I think it took is about an hour round trip, with about 15 minutes standing at the top.
Highly recommended!

1  Thank MarkUSNA1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews