We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

the food was amazing, the decor was great, all of the fresh baked goods were amazing, there were so many great things about this place. Minutes from the caverns, and the little town shops. I would for sure return again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank watchmakerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It was a pleasure, very nice conversation and great having you over!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    49
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
413
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at South Court Inn over St. Patricks's Day weekend. Mike and Adelheid are such delightful hosts! There were so many special, custom touches to make our stay unforgettable! So, we decided South Court Inn is now "our place" to getaway. It's a great fit for my husband and I. I have a special diet- gluten-free & dairy-free- and Adelheid was able to accommodate my needs, even at relatively short notice. Bonus, that she is a dietician!That was really nice, to getaway and have my special diet covered. (We also found a restaurant nearby for dinner that serves homemade gluten-free bread: Gathering Grounds Cafe. We highly recommend it!)

We really enjoyed the European flavor at this Inn, with Adelheid's German heritage and Art History background. Our room felt like the Italian Renaissance & Baroque eras. Very romantic! And very comfy (memory foam top) bed. A special tea and coffee tray was brought to our door both mornings. Then, we enjoyed lavish gourmet breakfasts, in an elegant dining room. There were even gluten-free goodies :0), snacks & drinks upon arrival, and throughout the weekend. Not to mention the evening wine hour...Mike and Adelheid really go "all out," plus they have lots of info/resources on what to do in the area. We'll definitely be back soon. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much, hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We decided to spend a few days in Luray so we could go hiking in the Shenandoah mountains and visit the Luray Caverns. A huge snow storm was predicted one day prior to our arrival and were concerned we may have had to cancel our trip. Several days prior to our check in, Mike emailed us with the option to cancel our reservation with a FULL refund if we chose not to come. He kept us updated on the weather conditions (predicted 6-12" of snow on Wed) and indicated we had until Thursday 3 PM to cancel without penalty. The day after the storm, he emailed us again and indicated the roads were clear and the Inn had power. To say the least, we were very impressed with Mike's personal attention to our situation.
We stayed in the Turquise Room which is located on the first floor by the front porch. In the warmer months privacy may be an issue because the wrap around porch has extensive seating and looks directly into this room. The room was a nice size and although the bed has a beautiful canopy top, it was very dusty and needs to be cleaned. The rest of the room was spotless. In the common areas, we enjoyed reading on the sun porch and warming our feet in front of the fireplace. The breakfast was excellent and the coffee was superb!
Unfortunately, we were unable to do much hiking in the higher elevations because Skyline Drive was closed, but Luray Caverns was really fun. We will definately go back to hike those trails and we will stay at the South Court Inn!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for the warm comments. As new owners of SCI we are still catching up with a number of issues, this 'dustiness' was one that has since been corrected with a 'deep clean' in some very hard to get at places (except for the dust, those guys are pretty good finding neat hiding spots!). It would have been helpful to have heard about this during the stay so we could have addressed the issue immediately and we encourage all our guests to please bring up issues they discover while still here so we may address them more effectively for later guests, but in any event, this one has now been put to rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Mike and Adelheid are wonderful hosts that truly thought of everything, from chocolates on your bed when you arrive, to a wonderful wine hour in the evening, to the scrumptious (and huge!) German breakfast in the morning. You will not leave hungry. Mike and Adelheid are a joy to talk with and have lots of local insight on the attractions. They also offer a number of packages which are competitively priced (we did the bottle of wine with tickets to Luray Caverns, which I recommend).
The accomodations were also wonderful. The house is rustic and charming but with modern updates (luxurious comfortable bed, large jaccuzzi tub and updated bathroom). The perfect mix of rustic and modern. This is a great value with lots of added extras at no charge. Well worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HA778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We decided to spend the first weekend of November in and around the Shenandoah Valley area. South Court Inn was the perfect place to stay and was just fantastic. Adelheid provides a truly high end gourmet breakfast. The Sapphire room was spotless and the bed could not have been more comfortable with the newly added memory foam topper. Our conversations with Adelheid and Mike enhanced our stay and I enjoyed Mike's showing us the plane that he is buiding. From the nicely furnished rooms, quality amenities, in room snacks and drinks, and most accomodating innkeepers, South Court Inn easily earns it's five star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shugsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Wonderful 1800's B&B. Excellent home made breakfasts, coffe and tea delivered to the room every morning. Very good price for the service provided. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medic152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently traveled down to South Court Inn the third week in October specifically to go hiking at Shen. Nat'l Park. We were pleasantly greeted at the inn by Adelheid who made us feel right at home, we met Mike later that evening and both hosts made us feel as if we had known them for years. We stayed in the Golden Room where homemade chocolates, snacks, and drinks were available to us. Adelheid shared local events and things to do which were a plus for dinner the first night. I can't say enough about her cooking!!! Delicious, scrumptious, rich, well-prepared - my favorite was the plum compote with shaved almonds, or her homemade cherry jam for right out of the oven currant scones. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay - definitely would recommend this B&B and look forward to seeing them again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
6.6 mi away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 160 S Court St, Luray, VA 22835-1217
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Court Inn is a converted Victorian Farmhouse that is now a B&B that includes a guest cottage. Located in the Shenandoah Valley, home to Luray Caverns, Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. Special packages and gift certificates are available for every occasion. We aim to be a "Gracious Oasis" in your busy life and cater to couples seeking warm, elegant surroundings and romantic atmosphere for quality time together. Canopy beds, private baths, fireplaces and queen or king beds in 4 guestrooms, 3 whirlpool tubs. The private 3-room South Court Inn Cottage offers a shower bath, 60" whirlpool tub, 35" and 20" color TVs, personal patio with pergola and up to 4 guests aged 14 and older. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood with private off-street parking. Our multi-course candlelight breakfasts round out your special getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing