We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Service, Comfy Accomodations and Delicious Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Service, Comfy Accomodations and Delicious Breakfast!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Mike and Adelheid are wonderful hosts that truly thought of everything, from chocolates on your bed when you arrive, to a wonderful wine hour in the evening, to the scrumptious (and huge!) German breakfast in the morning. You will not leave hungry. Mike and Adelheid are a joy to talk with and have lots of local insight on the attractions. They also offer a number of packages which are competitively priced (we did the bottle of wine with tickets to Luray Caverns, which I recommend).
The accomodations were also wonderful. The house is rustic and charming but with modern updates (luxurious comfortable bed, large jaccuzzi tub and updated bathroom). The perfect mix of rustic and modern. This is a great value with lots of added extras at no charge. Well worth every penny!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HA778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    49
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
417
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pikesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We decided to spend the first weekend of November in and around the Shenandoah Valley area. South Court Inn was the perfect place to stay and was just fantastic. Adelheid provides a truly high end gourmet breakfast. The Sapphire room was spotless and the bed could not have been more comfortable with the newly added memory foam topper. Our conversations with Adelheid and Mike enhanced our stay and I enjoyed Mike's showing us the plane that he is buiding. From the nicely furnished rooms, quality amenities, in room snacks and drinks, and most accomodating innkeepers, South Court Inn easily earns it's five star rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shugsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Wonderful 1800's B&B. Excellent home made breakfasts, coffe and tea delivered to the room every morning. Very good price for the service provided. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medic152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently traveled down to South Court Inn the third week in October specifically to go hiking at Shen. Nat'l Park. We were pleasantly greeted at the inn by Adelheid who made us feel right at home, we met Mike later that evening and both hosts made us feel as if we had known them for years. We stayed in the Golden Room where homemade chocolates, snacks, and drinks were available to us. Adelheid shared local events and things to do which were a plus for dinner the first night. I can't say enough about her cooking!!! Delicious, scrumptious, rich, well-prepared - my favorite was the plum compote with shaved almonds, or her homemade cherry jam for right out of the oven currant scones. Can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay - definitely would recommend this B&B and look forward to seeing them again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We wanted to get away for a few days and decided to try a B&B. We were so lucky to find two nights at South Court Inn. Adelheid welcomed us and made us feel right at home. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. We met Mike the following day and he is also the perfect host. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting to find that perfect getaway place. The location is also central with easy access. Adelheid's breakfast was incredible. Not only did she accommodate my dietary restrictions but she is also an excellent baker!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyptd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at South Court Inn for two nights to celebrate my husband's birthday. This was truly a wonderful experience starting from amazaing four course breakfast and ending with a great DVD collection that we took advantage of to watch a few movies while staying in our cozy room. We stayed in Sapphire Room which is beautifully decorated in blue colors. The pictures of the room on the inn website are true, but in reallity the room is much cozier and nicer. Most importantly we felt like we are the most welcomed guests and all the little touches like coffee in the morning before breakfast or cake in the sun room in the evening made our stay really exceptional. Mike and Adelheid are really nice and interesting people and wonderful hosts that strive to make their guests as comfortable and as pumpered as possible. I will recommend this inn to everyone and will gladly come to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackIrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I had come to Luray and stayed at the South Court Inn a couple of years ago. We were initially unsure whether we would like it as much under new ownership. I didn't know this place could be improved upon - but it is even better with Mike and Adelheid!

By the time we had left, we felt like we were leaving old friends. Adelheid and Mike were fabulous hosts. They were interesting and friendly to talk to, and they hosted a great happy hour. The coffee outside the room door in the morning was a welcome surprise, and the breakfasts were truly amazing. We stayed in the Golden Room. The bed was comfortable, and the room was nicely furnished.

If you're going on a day hike, take advantage of the Hiking Package. I never thought I'd be on the internet singing praises of sandwiches, but they were truly amazing. And it was so nice to have all the water, food, and backpack already taken care of for our trip up the mountain.

We highly recommend this B&B and hope to make it back again in the future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertrude G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael O, Owner at South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
You are too kind! But I am happy we hit the mark! As new innkeepers we are still catching up, taking care of our guests comes first, recently discovered abilities to respond to reviews (my excuse!) come second. Come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.3 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Intown Luray
2.6 mi away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
14.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 160 S Court St, Luray, VA 22835-1217
Location: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Court Inn is a converted Victorian Farmhouse that is now a B&B that includes a guest cottage. Located in the Shenandoah Valley, home to Luray Caverns, Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive. Special packages and gift certificates are available for every occasion. We aim to be a "Gracious Oasis" in your busy life and cater to couples seeking warm, elegant surroundings and romantic atmosphere for quality time together. Canopy beds, private baths, fireplaces and queen or king beds in 4 guestrooms, 3 whirlpool tubs. The private 3-room South Court Inn Cottage offers a shower bath, 60" whirlpool tub, 35" and 20" color TVs, personal patio with pergola and up to 4 guests aged 14 and older. We are located in a quiet residential neighborhood with private off-street parking. Our multi-course candlelight breakfasts round out your special getaways! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your South Court Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing